Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
We loved this dish! It is the only way my 9 year old son has enjoyed a bean of ANY kind! I did not use the slow cooker, but also stayed in one pan. Took some advice and added chili powder and used some roasted red peppers as well. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bandrs
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I really liked this dish. It's kind of a hybrid between chili and soup. Very kid-friendly (once they get over eating beans) and quick to make on a weeknight. I didn't use a slow cooker, just simmered it in the same big pan I cooked the meat in to save on the dishes. Instead of a packet of seasoning, I used Taco Seasoning I from this site. It smells, looks and tastes exactly the same (maybe even better) than a store bought version with a FRACTION of the sodium. We're having the leftovers tonight over baked potatoes with shredded cheese and sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This had great taste although next time I will add a little more flavor to give it a little more spice taste. I will definately add less water. It was way too thin to be a "stew"! Thanks for another addition to my forever growing recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was great but I varied the recipe a bit. I added chopped onion & green pepper & 2 cloves minced garlic half way through beef browning. Also used can of chicken broth intstead of H20 & a can of chopped tomatoes in addition to the tomato paste. Served over macaroni & with pepper/cheese corn muffins. Thanks for the recipe, a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I made this using ground turkey, dried black beans that I cooked myself, and frozen corn. I also used the Taco Seasoning recipe on this site, instead of a package. It was good, but rather bland. So I added a couple extra tsp's of chili powder and cumin, salt, and pepper. With extra spices, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was good! I didn't add water, added a can of Rotel. It tasted kind of bland, so I added some black pepper, cayanne pepper & cumin. Served with hot sauce & cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My hubby loved this. It's really more like chili than a stew. I cooked it on the stovetop instead of a slow cooker, and used a can of chopped tomatoes instead of paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Seriously, this is a chili recipe, not a stew. That said, it was okay. I didn't bother mess with the slow cooker for 20 minutes of cooking. I just did everything in a big pot. It certainly was easy. But...I was also a bit dull. I prefer my chili to be loaded with vegetables and different kinds of beans and spices. I might make this again though, since I typically have all of the ingredients on hand; I'll just liven it up a bit. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I found this recipe on here about 6 years ago and have made it ever since. It is a family favorite. I double the beans to stretch it a little farther. I don't drain the beans as the recipe states, so as not to lose all that flavor and nutrition. I add a can of chopped green chili peppers & also a can of stewed tomatoes, chopped up. A lot of times I have ground beef already cooked & drained in the freezer, which makes this about a 10 min. prep meal. A real winner for busy nights. But even if I don't have the ground beef pre-cooked, I cook it in my dutch oven, drain & make this stew in the same pot. I know this is originally a crock pot recipe, but I cook it on the stove. I just bring to a boil, turn down the heat & simmer for about 30 - 45 min. It turns out just great. We eat this with cheese, tortilla chips & sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Really happy with the way this turned out. I also added a can of diced tomatos ans reduced the water by a little. It's almost like a chili and a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States