Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very delish! I use a jar of salsa in place of the tomato paste and jazz it up a bit with some spices but it's a great, quick dinner. I do not use a slow cooker, too much hassle for 20 minutes! All in 1 pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is a pretty good recipe. I am cutting down on the red meat intake for the whole family and eating more veggies so I didn't add the ground beef and put in some onion instead. We are all garlic lovers so I put in 2 diced cloves of garlic which still ended up not being enough so next time I will add garlic powder as well. I think next time I will also try adding some fresh chopped cilantro for a little added flare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Wonderful...I added some sausage, and pureed about 1/2 beans. Topped it with jalapenos, cheese,and sour cream --- YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
We loved this dish! It is the only way my 9 year old son has enjoyed a bean of ANY kind! I did not use the slow cooker, but also stayed in one pan. Took some advice and added chili powder and used some roasted red peppers as well. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Scobee
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I really liked this dish. It's kind of a hybrid between chili and soup. Very kid-friendly (once they get over eating beans) and quick to make on a weeknight. I didn't use a slow cooker, just simmered it in the same big pan I cooked the meat in to save on the dishes. Instead of a packet of seasoning, I used Taco Seasoning I from this site. It smells, looks and tastes exactly the same (maybe even better) than a store bought version with a FRACTION of the sodium. We're having the leftovers tonight over baked potatoes with shredded cheese and sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This had great taste although next time I will add a little more flavor to give it a little more spice taste. I will definately add less water. It was way too thin to be a "stew"! Thanks for another addition to my forever growing recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was great but I varied the recipe a bit. I added chopped onion & green pepper & 2 cloves minced garlic half way through beef browning. Also used can of chicken broth intstead of H20 & a can of chopped tomatoes in addition to the tomato paste. Served over macaroni & with pepper/cheese corn muffins. Thanks for the recipe, a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I made this using ground turkey, dried black beans that I cooked myself, and frozen corn. I also used the Taco Seasoning recipe on this site, instead of a package. It was good, but rather bland. So I added a couple extra tsp's of chili powder and cumin, salt, and pepper. With extra spices, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was good! I didn't add water, added a can of Rotel. It tasted kind of bland, so I added some black pepper, cayanne pepper & cumin. Served with hot sauce & cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My hubby loved this. It's really more like chili than a stew. I cooked it on the stovetop instead of a slow cooker, and used a can of chopped tomatoes instead of paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States