Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Easy,inexpensive and easy to make. I was pleasantly suprised with dish. I used dried black beans instead of canned; ground turkey instead of beef. It was so good that even my picky two-year-old said it was "mmm good mama". The next time I make it, I may double up on beans and omit the meat all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Not great, just okay. Had to add a lot of chili powder and cumin to make the flavors more than bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
i thought this was very good actually. very simple and different. i did not make it in a slow cooker. i just cooked it on the stove. i will definately eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was sooo good! I found the recipe by searching ingredients because I needed to use up my pantry items, and I am sooo glad I did! Hubby and I gobbled it up! Good by itself as a chili or also good with Fritos as a dip, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Very tasty, easy to make. I like to add about 1/4 tsp. of red cayenne to make it a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
excellent recipe!! i had to double the recipe for my family size. my kids loved it. even my daughter who claims she doesn't like corn; but she scarfed this dish down. the only thing i did differently was added some chopped onion, bell pepper and a can of petite diced tomatoes (plain--no flavor added). and a little extra seasoning to taste. i also added the sour cream directly to the pot and stirred in, instead of adding to individual servings and served with tostitos. this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My toddlers helped make this dish by emptying all the cans into a bowl and adding the water. Then I emptied the bowl in with the cooked and drained meat. We did not add the sour cream at this time because some of us do not care for it. After the stew was complete we put it in bowls and added the cheese. My girls ate every bite and asked for seconds. The next day they requested it again. Next time I'll double the recipe. It's a family pleaser because each person can customize it with cheese, sour cream, jalapenos, chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiet_place

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
YUM! I doubled this recipe except for the corn. It is very thick (which is a good thing) so we poured it over tortilla chips. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Awesome! So fast, so easy, and so yummy. The only thing I did different than the original was to add a can of diced tomatoes and a can of garbanzo beans. I think I also added more liquid (beef stock) than called for but that's just our family's preference. My kids (5 and 18 months) both had seconds! And my older son is requesting it for his birthday dinner this weekend... so you KNOW it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very delish! I use a jar of salsa in place of the tomato paste and jazz it up a bit with some spices but it's a great, quick dinner. I do not use a slow cooker, too much hassle for 20 minutes! All in 1 pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States