Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I have an All Recipes cook book that has this recipe cooked on the stove top rather than a slow cooker. While the meat and taco seasoning is simmering, I dump and stir the rest of the ingredients (I drain half the liquid from the black beans) in a large bowl and then add it to the skillet to cook on a medium heat for 20 minutes. Either way you choose to cook this stew, it still comes out yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great stew! More of thin-consistency chili. We added cumin, paprika, and Tabasco. Really yummy! Double the recipe for a hearty dinner and lunch leftovers. Serve with cornbread (add a can of whole sweat corn to the cornbread for something different). Simple recipe and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was super tasty! I've added extra beans to mine each time I made it. Kidney beans, pinquinto, black, white kidney, chili beans... they all work with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this last night for the family. I did make a few changes after I read the other reviewers comments. I did saute onion and garlic with the meat. I also added low salt beef broth instead of the water and come chili powder for a little more kick. I did not use any salt, drained and risnsed both the can corn and black beans due to the high sodium. Since this is more like a soup I served over some pasta. This was very good and everyone but the little one enjoyed this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was great, because we are trying to cut the fat, I made it with ground turkey, I then served it with tortillas--I used a small amount of reduced fat mexican cheese for each serving. This is a total keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Easy and flavorful. My kids liked it too (5 and 8). I also served it over rice for dinner, but would be good alone as well. I added about 1 tablespoonn of sugar to lower acid from paste (not enough to sweeten) and fresh crushed garlic when I simmered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I loved this and have made it about a dozen times. Its real guy food! I have used Rotel habenero tomatoes in it, echalada sauce in it, and it is simple and tastes great! Its a definite keeper! Dont forget the sour cream! It really makes this dish.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was great! After reading the reviews, I substituted Mexican corn for plain, whole kernel corn. I topped it with toasted corn tortilla strips and Mexican four-cheese shreds and my family LOVED it! I rated this 4 stars because I will substitute shredded chicken for ground beef next time. The ground meat just didn't 'do it' for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I always feel misleading when I review a recipe that I changed. That being said I did like this as a base recipe and made some changes per my preference. I used ground turkey instead of beef and sauteed an onion and green pepper with the turkey. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of tomato paste and only needed to add about 1/2 cup water. I drained and rinsed the black beans before adding. I also added more spices- garlic, chili powder, onion powder, red pepper, cumin. I made a much bigger batch than the recipe suggests (added 3 cans of BB) and it was wonderful reheated for lunch. I love what I created and appreciate the direction this recipe gave me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States