Southwestern Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great stew! More of thin-consistency chili. We added cumin, paprika, and Tabasco. Really yummy! Double the recipe for a hearty dinner and lunch leftovers. Serve with cornbread (add a can of whole sweat corn to the cornbread for something different). Simple recipe and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was super tasty! I've added extra beans to mine each time I made it. Kidney beans, pinquinto, black, white kidney, chili beans... they all work with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this last night for the family. I did make a few changes after I read the other reviewers comments. I did saute onion and garlic with the meat. I also added low salt beef broth instead of the water and come chili powder for a little more kick. I did not use any salt, drained and risnsed both the can corn and black beans due to the high sodium. Since this is more like a soup I served over some pasta. This was very good and everyone but the little one enjoyed this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was great, because we are trying to cut the fat, I made it with ground turkey, I then served it with tortillas--I used a small amount of reduced fat mexican cheese for each serving. This is a total keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Easy and flavorful. My kids liked it too (5 and 8). I also served it over rice for dinner, but would be good alone as well. I added about 1 tablespoonn of sugar to lower acid from paste (not enough to sweeten) and fresh crushed garlic when I simmered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I loved this and have made it about a dozen times. Its real guy food! I have used Rotel habenero tomatoes in it, echalada sauce in it, and it is simple and tastes great! Its a definite keeper! Dont forget the sour cream! It really makes this dish.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was great! After reading the reviews, I substituted Mexican corn for plain, whole kernel corn. I topped it with toasted corn tortilla strips and Mexican four-cheese shreds and my family LOVED it! I rated this 4 stars because I will substitute shredded chicken for ground beef next time. The ground meat just didn't 'do it' for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I always feel misleading when I review a recipe that I changed. That being said I did like this as a base recipe and made some changes per my preference. I used ground turkey instead of beef and sauteed an onion and green pepper with the turkey. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of tomato paste and only needed to add about 1/2 cup water. I drained and rinsed the black beans before adding. I also added more spices- garlic, chili powder, onion powder, red pepper, cumin. I made a much bigger batch than the recipe suggests (added 3 cans of BB) and it was wonderful reheated for lunch. I love what I created and appreciate the direction this recipe gave me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really good & kid friendly! I used frz. corn because I had it on hand and prefered to use (1) can of crushed tomatoes instaed of the tomato paste. Added some beef broth only because I was looking for more of a soup than a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was very tasty but a bit watery. I topped with sour cream and cheese. Cooked stovetop as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelic3432

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States