Southwestern Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Added more garlic, cilantro, and some parsley. Have added corn. Adds a nice color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Made this for an office potluck. I got many good reviews from my co-workers. This recipe as written will make a large amount; I anticipated around 25 servings but ended up eating the leftovers for about 4 days. Very good, and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanschwancter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Great side to serve with tacos. I used black beans and did everything else the same - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Very tasty. I've made it a few times now. Once using kidney beans & twice using black beans. The black beans won, plus the extra red chili pepper flakes are great for those who like it spicy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Pico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane442
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Yum. Loved it. A nice way to use black olives and they go very well with the beans, I found. I did not have any green pepper, but I added finely shredded carrots instead. Also used parsley instead of cilantro. Add a green salad and you have a nice meat-free meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Really tasty! A refreshing alternative to potato or pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Not a huge fan of this. Very very lime-y is the only way I can describe it. My daughter ate one bite and that's it and husband ate it and said it was okay. The olives were kinda weird in this as well. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is a tasty salad! I needed to find a recipe that allowed me to use up some things in my fridge, while also not using a lot of ingredients that I didn't have around because they are too expensive in the winter. This recipe came to the closest to meeting those requirements. I had to make a couple of changes, but not too many. Having previous experiences with similar salads, I used only about 2 to 2 1/2 cups of rice, and I used brown rice for health reasons and because I already had it cooked up in my house. I used pinto beans instead of kidney, and cucumbers instead of peppers. I had no green onions, so I used regular white onion instead. Other than these changes (and using olive oil instead of canola) this salad was great! Because I used less rice, the salad was more flavorful. Thanks for sharing the recipe...I'll make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
New go to side dish for us! Made this as a side with a Mexican main dish the other night. Used black beans and red pepper as had been mentioned by another reviewer. Not only was the salad beautiful, and sooo tasty! I forsee this dish on our table many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Fantastic! I too swapped black beans for the red - added a can of corn for color- and my gang likes more prominent taste so upped the garlic, cilantro, cumin, and lime juice. A big hit , will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States