Southwestern Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Added more garlic, cilantro, and some parsley. Have added corn. Adds a nice color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Made this for an office potluck. I got many good reviews from my co-workers. This recipe as written will make a large amount; I anticipated around 25 servings but ended up eating the leftovers for about 4 days. Very good, and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanschwancter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Great side to serve with tacos. I used black beans and did everything else the same - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Very tasty. I've made it a few times now. Once using kidney beans & twice using black beans. The black beans won, plus the extra red chili pepper flakes are great for those who like it spicy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Pico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane442
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Yum. Loved it. A nice way to use black olives and they go very well with the beans, I found. I did not have any green pepper, but I added finely shredded carrots instead. Also used parsley instead of cilantro. Add a green salad and you have a nice meat-free meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Really tasty! A refreshing alternative to potato or pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Not a huge fan of this. Very very lime-y is the only way I can describe it. My daughter ate one bite and that's it and husband ate it and said it was okay. The olives were kinda weird in this as well. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is a tasty salad! I needed to find a recipe that allowed me to use up some things in my fridge, while also not using a lot of ingredients that I didn't have around because they are too expensive in the winter. This recipe came to the closest to meeting those requirements. I had to make a couple of changes, but not too many. Having previous experiences with similar salads, I used only about 2 to 2 1/2 cups of rice, and I used brown rice for health reasons and because I already had it cooked up in my house. I used pinto beans instead of kidney, and cucumbers instead of peppers. I had no green onions, so I used regular white onion instead. Other than these changes (and using olive oil instead of canola) this salad was great! Because I used less rice, the salad was more flavorful. Thanks for sharing the recipe...I'll make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
New go to side dish for us! Made this as a side with a Mexican main dish the other night. Used black beans and red pepper as had been mentioned by another reviewer. Not only was the salad beautiful, and sooo tasty! I forsee this dish on our table many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Fantastic! I too swapped black beans for the red - added a can of corn for color- and my gang likes more prominent taste so upped the garlic, cilantro, cumin, and lime juice. A big hit , will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States