Southwestern Barley Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
this makes a great healthy meal! I used lime juice instead of lemon which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Nice salad to have other than rice salad. Sometimes instead of making the dressing I just dress everything with a really good roasted tomato salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Great flavorful salad! I didn't have black beans, so I used black-eyed peas. I also added some chili powder and I really think that's what really made it perfect. I love this easy recipe for a very filling salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was surprisingly light. I forgot to add water to the dressing, so the lemon flavor was pretty prominent. I used fresh, raw corn, and I chopped the avocado and all the tomatoes and mixed them in with the salad. Plus, I used shallot instead of onion because it's milder. The corn and peas gave this dish a sweet flavor and a nice crunch. I'll definitely make this again--only next time, I'll remember to add the water. I may also add some red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This recipe is strange in that it doesn't have any Southwestern spices. I added a teaspoon each of chili powder and cumin, and that really helped out. I even had folks ask me for the recipe! When I make it again, I'll add more lemon juice, too. For 3 cups cooked barley, in a 2-quart pot with lid, bring 3 cups of water to a boil, add 1 cup pearl barley, let it boil again and then cover it and simmer for 40 minutes. Then remove it from heat and let sit covered for 10 minutes. Fluff it with a fork like you would rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very good. Makes a nice lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was so good! As I sit here, trying to eat this and write my review, I desperately wish that I had three hands. I too added a generous dash of cumin, and it was fantastic! I left out the avocado though; unfortunately, mine had gone bad. :( The only change I would make is use lime juice instead of lemon. The lemon juice is good, but the lime would really give it a more "southwestern" flavor. Thanks Tommi, this a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Personally I didn't think it needed extra spices as the garlic and cilantro gave it plenty of flavour. Very good and a great take-to-work lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I think the base is very good. However, the lemon juice was for me very overpowering. To tame that taste I added a squashed in avocado as well squeezed in juice from a whole lime. Then it really hit the spot for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fk2123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Poor old barley always seems to end up in a stew, so it was nice to eat it as part of a fresh, tasty salad! This is so healthy and delicious - I did change the canola oil for olive oil, and I do agree with other reviewers that it needs a little more depth to the flavour, so I added some cumin & it was terrific. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States