Southwestern Barley Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Nice salad to have other than rice salad. Sometimes instead of making the dressing I just dress everything with a really good roasted tomato salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was surprisingly light. I forgot to add water to the dressing, so the lemon flavor was pretty prominent. I used fresh, raw corn, and I chopped the avocado and all the tomatoes and mixed them in with the salad. Plus, I used shallot instead of onion because it's milder. The corn and peas gave this dish a sweet flavor and a nice crunch. I'll definitely make this again--only next time, I'll remember to add the water. I may also add some red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Great flavorful salad! I didn't have black beans, so I used black-eyed peas. I also added some chili powder and I really think that's what really made it perfect. I love this easy recipe for a very filling salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
this makes a great healthy meal! I used lime juice instead of lemon which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This recipe is strange in that it doesn't have any Southwestern spices. I added a teaspoon each of chili powder and cumin, and that really helped out. I even had folks ask me for the recipe! When I make it again, I'll add more lemon juice, too. For 3 cups cooked barley, in a 2-quart pot with lid, bring 3 cups of water to a boil, add 1 cup pearl barley, let it boil again and then cover it and simmer for 40 minutes. Then remove it from heat and let sit covered for 10 minutes. Fluff it with a fork like you would rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very good. Makes a nice lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I also thought it strange that the recipe didn't have any southwestern spices. I thought it bland, so added 1/2 C salsa and 1/4 cumin and it was much better. Makes a good chip dip too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I made this salad for my lunches one week. I liked that this was nice and light, and I enjoyed the lemony dressing. I added shredded chicken for more protein and some chopped jalapenos for a bit of heat. I would give it 4 stars if it was a bit zestier, but it was a tad bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Personally I didn't think it needed extra spices as the garlic and cilantro gave it plenty of flavour. Very good and a great take-to-work lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I think the base is very good. However, the lemon juice was for me very overpowering. To tame that taste I added a squashed in avocado as well squeezed in juice from a whole lime. Then it really hit the spot for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fk2123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States