Southwestern Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
All six of us loved this casserole - even the daughter who hates Mexican food! I used "medium" salsa and it was very spicy. We ate it with extra sour cream and salsa, and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
I have made this twice now - I find it best if you only use one layer of tortilla chips on top of the 1st layer, then cheese, then rest of sauce topping with cheese, only making 2 layers rather than 3. The first time I used all of the chips and it was very dry. On top layer of cheese also added some chopped olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
We loved it! My husband and I aren't big fans of black beans so I left those out. And I only used 8oz of sour cream, but it turned out great! It will definitely stay up front in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
A group of us from work volunteer for the Ronald McDonald House and decided to make this for dinner on our night. We made 3 casseroles for the entire house and almost ran out! Kids and adults alike loved this dish! So simple to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
I used half the salsa and substituted stewed tomatoes as i wanted to reduce spiciness so my 3 yr old would enjoy it as well. In order to avoid the dryness some others complained of, i left out the sour cream and added a dollop at the end on each plate. This was a fantastic meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I don't like black beans so I substituted chili beans (drained and rinsed). It was very good and filling. Will make again and again!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONBROADUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This was fantastic. We cut the sour cream in half and added a packet of taco seasoning. At the advice of another reviewer, we only made two layers. We served it with a little sour cream on the side...it was perfect, not dry at all. Next time we may try tortillas instead of crushed chips. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This was fantastic! My entire family loved it including my 16 month old. I used about half the salsa because I was using my own (very hot)salsa. Then a dollop of sour cream for each serving and extra salsa if desired. Yum Yum! We will make this again and again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
This was a great recipe. My usually somewhat picky eaters, really liked it. Will defintitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Everyone asks for this recipe - it is so easy it's almost embarrasing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States