Southwestern Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Like others I took advice from those listed here and added my own variety. 1. Bought 1 packet of taco seasoning. Added 1/2 the seasoning to the beef, onion, garlic as it browned. 2. Added the other 1/2 of the seasoning to the sour cream (aprx. 10oz). 3. Strained the 1 can of black beans, 1 can of corn. 4. In big bowl mixed beef, sour cream, beans, corn, 1 c. of salsa. 5. I only did two layers (beef-->chips-->taco cheese-->beef-->chips-->taco cheese). Topped with black olives, green onions. Served Corn cake on the side. Both can be in the oven at the same time & temp :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Loved It, used 1/2 can of Black beans, only 1 can corn, turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was surprisingly yummy, not the most appetizing looking though!! It even warmed up well for leftovers. Might be good to round out this dish with a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amninta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Delicious! I used only one can of black beans and 1 and a half cans of the corn. I added hot taco seasoning to the beef mixture, to which I also added one chopped green bell pepper. I used much less than five cups of crushed tortilla chips. I added chopped, fresh cilantro to the meat mixture, after cooking. Instead of just cheddar, I used a taco cheese mixture for the cheese layers. Instead of adding chopped fresh tomatoes on top of the casserole, I used canned, diced tomato with green chiles. I forgot to add the green onions to the top, but I didn't miss them with all of my modifications. This is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Good weeknight meal if you use red. fat sour cream and no-salt-added canned goods. Next time I'll add the tomatoes and green onions as a colorful topping AFTER baking so the onions don't get crunchy. Maybe some sliced black olives would look pretty too? Only used 1 can corn like some others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I thought this recipe was delicious. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it was a little dry. I think it would be more moist with less tortilla chips so I will use cut back on the chips the next time I make this casserole. The flavor is wonderful and I like the combination of black beans and corn. Don't be afraid to use 1 tablespoon or more of chili powder. It really does add to the flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was so easy to make and very yummy! I forgot the chilli powder, but it was good without it. I also added extra cheese. It made more than I expected, so I put half in the freezer for another meal. I will be adding this meal to our "rotation" of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Live Oak, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
My husband and I thought this was a great meal. I tweaked it to our liking. I used one can of black beans that I rinsed first and used frozen corn instead of canned. I omitted the sour cream and salsa. I added fresh diced tomatoes and seasoned with low sodium McCormicks Taco Seasoning packet to the cooked meat mixture and cooked everything together for a few minutes. Then, I put it all in a baking dish then lightly crushed unsalted tortilla chips and topped with shredded cheese. I baked for only five minutes to melt the cheese. It came out really tasting really delicious to us. We don't like a lot of salt on our foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I gave this 4 stars because I changed some things. I used only 1 can of beans and corn and cooked the meat with taco seasoning. I used nacho cheese chips instead of plain tortilla chips. It was very good and everyone seemed to like it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Super easy to prepare! Great dish to make on a busy day, all ingredients found on hand. Will add a little more spice next time, cause some like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States