Southwest White Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Due to my boyfriend's recent cholesterol test I've been on the hunt for good heart healthy recipes. This Chili was really good but I did make a few changes to the recipe due to the comments I read about it being a little bland. When you have high cholesterol just adding salt is not an option. My Changes: I omitted the green bell pepper and used 2 jalapenos and 1 orange bell pepper to balance out the heat I used a red onion to bump up the flavor Instead of 3/4c of water I used Chicken broth It was a little on the spicy side but that's how we like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this with leftover turkey instead of chicken, northern beans instead of kidney beans, and a can of chopped green chillies instead of the green pepper. I also did not have corn in the cupboard, so I omitted it. I agree with other reviewers that it was a little bland. I ended up adding about a teaspoon and a half of kosher salt. With some sour cream and cheese on top, it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I sprayed my pan with Pam instead of using veg oil. I cooked the onion and pepper with the seasonings until tender. I added the remaining ingredients including a packet of taco seasoning and kidney beans instead of the white beans. I used the meat from a precooked rotisserie chicken to save time. I also added a can of Rotel tomatoes. It turned out great. Will definitely make this again with the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
So easy & very tasty! Recipe as is makes a small amount. I doubled it the second time I made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is a great basic recipe. I agree too, that it was a little bland. Here are my changes: added 2 cloves of minced garlic, 1 small can of fire roasted green chilis instead of green pepper, chicken broth instead of water. I also had some left over wild rice pilaf and a few black beans in the fridge so I threw that in too Also added some salt and cayenne pepper. Seasoned chicken with onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper while cooking. LOVED the cannellini beans, never had them before and will use again. This is a great recipe to play with and make your own!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee' D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Good quick chicken chilli recipe. I used canned green chille instead of green peppers...it was a very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I knew I wouldn't be home today, so I threw all the ingredients minus the oil into the crock pot, including the chicken breasts. When I got home, I pulled out the chicken, shredded it, and stirred it back in. A good, hot meal that took no time or effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe. I've never made chicken chili before and this was easy and delicious. I had to use light red kidney beans and pinto beans because it was all I had, and I used chipotle pepper powder instead of chili powder. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quilcene, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I LOVE this recipe!! I use 1 can of green chilies instead of bell pepper. Did it the first time I made it by accident and have kept doing it that way ever since! I also like to put a spoonful of sour cream on top and eat a little bit of it with the chili on a tortilla chip. Soo DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States