Southwest-Style Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Wow - these were amazing! We put a little lime juice on them after they were cooked, which made them even better. I think next time I'll make a lime-ranch sauce to serve with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
These were really good. I was so pleased that the egg roll wrappers were easy to work with and they turned out great! I didn't have the right cheese, next time I'm going to play around with different types of cheeses. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These are great. My husband keeps telling me not to ever lose this recipe. I made a dip using a mashed avocado, 1/2 cup ranch dressing and 1/2 cup sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
These were good. I did add some seasonings to give it a little more flavor. I added red peppers, onion powder and cilantro. I think next time I will add some diced chicken. I served this with the creamy avocado-ranch dip from this site, which was also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Loved them!! I made them for a New Year's Eve party that I am going to tonight and I know they will be a hit. My boyfriend and I had to try one right after we made them. I was pleased at how easy they were to make and how easy the egg roll wrappers were to deal with. I'll definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I have been looking for a recipe like this to match the southwest spring rolls served at Damons. I just made this recipe and it is awesome! The only thing I changed about the recipe was I I added a 10 oz. can of white chicken. I served it with ranch dressing mixed with Frank's hot sauce. My husband and I devoured them and it made enough that we freezed some for another night. Thank you so much for this great recipe...Damons doesn't have anything on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I wanted to love these so much :( I've had them at restaurants and like them, but these turned out pretty bland. I want to try them again, because I'm wondering if I did something wrong. I know there was WAY too much cheese for my taste, but I think that was my fault. I also assumed I was supposed to cook the spinach till it wilts - perhaps not? I added cilantro, but it didn't help the flavor much. I think it definitely needs chicken, but I'm not sure what else. I'll try again one day and see what I can come up with and update my post if I have more success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Not bad, but I wish I had followed others' advice and added some chicken. I put them together, sprayed them lightly with butter-flavored Pam, and did them in the oven. Very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Yummy! I changed the recipe a bit (omitted spinach, added 2 oz. extra cheese and about 1/4 cup extra corn), and my husband and I really loved it. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Bland. I wanted Southwest Egg Rolls like Damon's serves but this recipe is missing a thing or two. I can't figure out what though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States