Southwest-Style Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I took the suggestion many had about using egg roll wraps but I thought they were tasteless. I found the best thing was to use the large 12 inch wraps. They come in a varitey of flavors and I just microwaved them in the moist cloth and they were easy to use as well as tasty. Many people suggested Amy's Cilanto sauce with it. I hated that. It went straight from the blender to the garbage. I used a spicy duck sauce for dipping. They are time consuming to make but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
The crowd we made these for loved them!! My husband thought they needed a little more heat, though. Will try and add heat next time we make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This dish was really tasty, but had some trouble keeping the wontons together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Very good. My husband loves them! I cut back on the jalopenos and it was still good. They do take time, but their worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Bland. I wanted Southwest Egg Rolls like Damon's serves but this recipe is missing a thing or two. I can't figure out what though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Yummy! I changed the recipe a bit (omitted spinach, added 2 oz. extra cheese and about 1/4 cup extra corn), and my husband and I really loved it. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Not bad, but I wish I had followed others' advice and added some chicken. I put them together, sprayed them lightly with butter-flavored Pam, and did them in the oven. Very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I wanted to love these so much :( I've had them at restaurants and like them, but these turned out pretty bland. I want to try them again, because I'm wondering if I did something wrong. I know there was WAY too much cheese for my taste, but I think that was my fault. I also assumed I was supposed to cook the spinach till it wilts - perhaps not? I added cilantro, but it didn't help the flavor much. I think it definitely needs chicken, but I'm not sure what else. I'll try again one day and see what I can come up with and update my post if I have more success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I have been looking for a recipe like this to match the southwest spring rolls served at Damons. I just made this recipe and it is awesome! The only thing I changed about the recipe was I I added a 10 oz. can of white chicken. I served it with ranch dressing mixed with Frank's hot sauce. My husband and I devoured them and it made enough that we freezed some for another night. Thank you so much for this great recipe...Damons doesn't have anything on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Loved them!! I made them for a New Year's Eve party that I am going to tonight and I know they will be a hit. My boyfriend and I had to try one right after we made them. I was pleased at how easy they were to make and how easy the egg roll wrappers were to deal with. I'll definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States