Southwest-Style Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Great recipe, did add a few things to give it some pizzazz: 1 teaspoon chili powder, dash of cayenne pepper if you like, and I used the mexican blend of cheeses from the grocery store instead of just monterey jack...it consists of mont jack but also 3 other mexican cheeses for extra punch. Also threw in finely minced 1/4 cup red bell pepper. I rolled in eggroll wrappers sprayed with pam in the oven for healthier version but still crispy. WOW this is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissthecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These lacked a real southwest flavor to us. We added a bunch more cumin, maybe some tomatoes and cilantro would help season the filling a bit more. Were still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Late2Class

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I made these with egg roll wraps and fresh corn, because that's what I had. My family LOVED them. I am going to make more this weekend to keep in the freezer for snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These were a hit. I made them in advance and froze them for a party. I used carne asada in half and shredded chicken in the other half and omitted the spinach. I also served them with Amy's Cilantro sauce and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is a good recipe, with room for additions, which I will do when I make them again. But, I made them just as the recipe states, and enjoyed them, but know I will like them much better with a little more spice, maybe some chicken, and try different wraps. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This recipe is great! It's been my favorite for a long time. You can also use the filling for chicken quesadillas. Instead of deep frying, lay them in a baking dish, pour a mixture of cream of chicken mixed with sour cream over, top with cheese, and bake it all together. Yam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rushinwonder1980

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
These were amazing! I doubled the amount of cumin, added chopped fresh cilantro, added 1 fresh chopped jalapeno and a shake of red pepper flakes. I also used a whole 8oz bag of shredded cheese. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I loved this! I would added a little more cumin and some red pepper flake for heat. I also used small wonton wrappers instead of egg roll wrappers, for a smaller treat. Great with ranch dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
So delicious, I make these all the time. For extra flavor and spice, try with chipotle-cheddar cheese (made by Sargento)--I make it with this all the time. Don't be afraid to add lots of extra cumin and chili powder. Add 1 lime of lime juice too, really good extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
These were yummy. I made them into appetizers and served it with nacho cheese dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States