Southwest-Style Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These are great. My husband keeps telling me not to ever lose this recipe. I made a dip using a mashed avocado, 1/2 cup ranch dressing and 1/2 cup sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
We changed this up a bit and loved it! Adding cilantro makes the flavors pop. We used pepper jack cheese, more cumin, chopped garlic and a bit less spinach. My husband and I enjoy finding recipes, adding our own flare and making it together! It's a great thing to do on "date night".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
this recipe is great, just like the ones they serve at Chili's! I made a WASABI -RANCH dipping sauce using equal amounts of ranch dressing and Wasabi sauce or a little more Wasabi than Ranch if you like it spicy. IT TASTES SOOO GOOD with this dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I make these all the time and my family loves them. I usually double the recipe, add at least a cup of chicken and less spinach. I wrap the filling in tortillas and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The egg rolls turned out absolutely perfect. I doubled the recipe just in case as I have a large family, but ended up with 20 extra egg rolls (can anyone say LEFTOVERS!?). Being inexperienced I wasn't quite sure what to do with the spinach (leave raw or cook). I took the safe route and cooked the leaves down in olive oil and salt beforehand. Tasted just fine in the end product. The recipe calls for frozen corn. Again I took the safe route and brought them to room temperature before the mix. I added extra cumin, as the amount recommended didn't seem to come out much in the pre frying taste. I also sliced up some avocados and reduced the amount of filling to a little less than 1 /4 cup to compensate. Prior to filling the egg roll wraps, I drained the filling one more time. I noticed any left over moisture would go right through the wraps. Anyway I think the inside of the rolls should not be wet at all after the frying. A tip on the sealing of the wraps was to not only use water but to add flour and water (1 part water to 1 part flour). It made a much better paste as opposed to just the water. Obviously excess flour just fried off anyway and wasn't noticeable. But it sure made closing the fat wraps easier. For half the batch I used just corn oil for frying. For the other half I used half olive oil and half corn oil. I thought it turned out crispier and tastier with the second route. Excellent recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Yummy - thanks for the recipe - a couple things I did for personal preference only - omitted spinach and added cabbage, marinated a chicken breast in lime juice, honey, cumin. garlic, S&P and then cooked - sheredded and added to filling mix. baked the wrapped egg rolls in 350 oven to reduce the oil content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I have been looking for a recipe like this to match the southwest spring rolls served at Damons. I just made this recipe and it is awesome! The only thing I changed about the recipe was I I added a 10 oz. can of white chicken. I served it with ranch dressing mixed with Frank's hot sauce. My husband and I devoured them and it made enough that we freezed some for another night. Thank you so much for this great recipe...Damons doesn't have anything on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
YUM!! I would add a tad bit more cumin and maybe a dash of chili powder to give it more of a southwestern flair-definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOYO78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
These were really good. I was so pleased that the egg roll wrappers were easy to work with and they turned out great! I didn't have the right cheese, next time I'm going to play around with different types of cheeses. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Wonderful, flavorful filling. Couldn't find egg roll wrappers so I used the 7" tortillas an earlier reviewer suggested and very glad I did. Instead of frying, I sprayed with Pam and baked at 375 for about 15-20 minutes, until the filling was bubbly. We ate these with the cilantro cream dip and it was phenomenal. Need to add this to our menu rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States