Southwest-Style Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
These were relatively bland. To kick them up a notch, I doubled the cumin, added 1 tsp chipotle powder and 1 c chopped chicken, and used pepperjack cheese. That definitely did the trick and would have earned this recipe 5 stars to begin with. These are also good in tortillas as "burritos" and you can substitute kidney beans for the black beans without losing too much of the "southwest" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bri
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I LOVE these eggrolls!!!! I always order them at Chili's and TGIF's, they used to sell them frozen at the grocery store and I haven't been able to find them anymore, so when I saw this recipe I was so happy I can make them myself now!!! Thank you for posting this one! This is the only way to get myself and some of my family to eat spinach!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Great idea! I had some egg roll wrappers that needed to be used, so I did a search for fun ways to fill them and this recipe came up. I ended up jazzing my filling with more cumin, some chipotle pepper, and salt & pepper. Thanks for the recipe = the guys loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These were super tasty, I left out the corn. Served with a side of lime chipotle ranch dip. Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
My family and friends just loved these egg rolls. I know I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bc&hood
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
First, I used canned, drained chicken breast instead and it came out great. The weirdest thing happened though... the filling mixture tasted awesome until I added the cheese....then the flavor sort of disappeared. So, next time I will add less cheese, or none at all. Second, I used actual egg roll wraps and baked them instead of fried...they came out very crispy and yummy! I think next time though, I will flash fry them, just to get that traditional egg roll greasy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
i used garlic salt and added some chili powder and a little cayenne pepper and some cubed chicken. instead of making these into eggrolls, i wrapped them in tortillas and put them in the oven at 350 for a few minutes, just to be a little more healthy. i also made a dipping sauce with some mashed avocado and equal amounts of ranch and sour cream. my boyfriend and i gobbled it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Almost every restaurant now has it's own variation of this recipe, but I have to say the ones I make at home now are my favorite!!! Thanks so much for this recipe. I did try a little variation of my own...I used jalapeno pepper jack cheese to give an extra little kick and instead of the egg roll wrappers I used lumpia wrappers. They are very thin and crispy like a phyllo dough. I made mine thin more like spring rolls this made it easier to be a finger food and I served with avocado ranch dipping sauce - one part mashed avocado, one part ranch dressing. Easy and goes very well with this dish. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clayton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I made a few changes to this dish and it turned out really great. Instead of baby spinach I doubled the corn, green onions and cheese, and added 1 cup finely diced chicken. I then baked the rolls in the oven by coating a baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray, spraying the rolls and TURNING HALFWAY through for 15 minutes at 425 degrees. It was great, espcially with Asian fried rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
These could have been so yummy if they wern't so bland! All the ingredients were so good & I added chopped cilantro too. It definatley needed some flavor & I"m not exactly sure what kind. Maybe some salsa in there or chili powder, and some garlic & definatley needed more lime juice & lots of cilantro! I cut the baby spinach in half becuse its not my favorite. I might even omit this part & just do the other ingredients or add chicken or something to it. The concept is great & the ingredients were good, but it just needed a little more something to it! Otherwise, my kids ate them & I thought they were good dipped in ranch or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States