Southwest-Style Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I make these often! Instead of egg roll wrappers, I use flour tortillas, and I bake them in the oven at 375 for about 16 minutes. (spray them with olive oil first to make them crispy) I've made these for guests and they love them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Louise Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Demotte, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
a little problem with quantity!served way moe than eight! Oh well they will get eaten and some frozen....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Solid recipe! Tasty but needing more spice overall, though would have been improved if I served with salsa as instructed :) Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Super yummy, and fun to make! Next time, ill try it with chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
My hubby really liked these, I used frozen spinach and after I squeezed a whole lime juice into the mix I put the shells in and boiled off a little of the extra liquid. then continued as recipe stated. I removed the lime shells before putting filling into wrappers. I also used wonton wrappers since I had then on hand. My hubby loved these, and that they had veggies in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I have made this several times and finally found the way to cook these that I like best. I add more cheese, more corn for sweetness, and use cilantro instead of spinach. I also use a minced jalapeno pepper for some heat. I use Amy's cilantro dip and add a half of guacamole to it. My favorite way to cook these are using Mission Ready to Cook flour tortillas. I make a paste of flour and water to seal all the seams and deep fry them at 375. They sealed and cooked perfectly. I was worried these might get soggy, but they didn't last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
If I could eat these everyday I would. I serve them with homemade buttermilk ranch. Best.Things.Ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Definitely a keeper for Superbowl Sunday and other holidays! We tried these baked and fried - the verdict was that fried was the way to go. Super yummy and an interesting fusion. Like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Didn't have a great taste. My kids love the eggrolls from Chili's but they tasted these and wouldn't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Wonderful, flavorful filling. Couldn't find egg roll wrappers so I used the 7" tortillas an earlier reviewer suggested and very glad I did. Instead of frying, I sprayed with Pam and baked at 375 for about 15-20 minutes, until the filling was bubbly. We ate these with the cilantro cream dip and it was phenomenal. Need to add this to our menu rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States