Southwest Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2004
We just finished having this for supper tonight. Everyone really liked it. I will definately make this again, although I did make a few changes. Used 1.5 lbs of ground beef, 28oz can of tomatoes, 1 cup of frozen corn, cut back on the water to 1 cup, 2 cloves of garlic instead of the garlic powder, pinch of red pepper flakes, and about 3tsp of taco seasoning, although I think it should have only been 2. I found it a little spicey but my kids both thought it was excellent. I would also add 2 more potatoes because I love potatoes in stew. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This is a great fast dish. I took the advice of others and added a pack of taco seasoning, I also added some additional salsa and used red kidney beans instead (didn't have any other). Everyone loved it. Will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Mmmm. I'm not a great cook-but I do like to try new things,this was easy to make. I did read reviews before I started and was able to use lots of the tips! I used the Ro-tel tomatoes(2 cans,10 oz.) and found that the taco seasoning gave it a heartier look and great taste, I didn't have garlic powder so substituted 2tsp minced garlic. I will soooo make this again! and again and again...(Children are 7,11 and 13 and they all had seconds)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I made few changes. Gound turkey in place of the beef, used rotel for picante sauce, and instead of cumin I put in a package of taco seasoning and package of ranch dressing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Have made this twice and it is excellent! Second time did not use water but more canned diced tomatoes added chile powder more cumin. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Really loved this stew. I served it for a group and it was gone in 20 minutes! I served it with Cliantro and sour cream on the side and I added a couple jalapenos to the pot. Thanks for sharing such an easy and delicious recipie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This was delicious. We added a can of Rotel and some chopped cilantro. It's definitely going into our "make again" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I improvised a little with this recipe, but it was wonderful. I left out potatos ( had none) but used extra corn, although I didn't have can corned, I used 4 ears of fresh corn instead. I love the flavor, I used a combination of black, white, and red peppers liberally as the medium salsa didn't make it spicy enough for my taste. I also added an extra cup of water and made it a soup, and topping it with cheddar made it creamy it was awesome! Next time I will definetly use potatos and follow the recipe exactly ( although I will still probably go a lil crazy with the pepper :) ) So glad I found this recipe, oh and by the way, it freezes well too just thaw slowly not in a pot and the beans hold their shape :) Tanks LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Was really good the first day, but tasted pretty bad as leftovers the next day. Next time I'll use two cans diced tomatoes and hot instead of medium salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
WOW! This was excellent and very easy to prepare. After reading the suggestions of others I used 1 1/2 lb. hamburger, 2 t. minced garlic instead of the powder and added 1 can of Rotel tomatoes,1 can Great Northern beans and an extra 1/2 can of water. I will be making this soup again and again! Thanks so much for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States