Southwest Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
what a great, hearty soup! my husband and i both loved - so did our 1 year old :o) so easy to make & you get a big pot of food that will last a while! i didn't have any salsa so i just put in a can of campbell's vegetable beef soup i found in my pantry plus the extra can of water it calls for. so good with cheddar cheese sprinkled on top! next time we'll add a little sour cream too. yum! thanks!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This recipe was really just ok. I think it would be a good base to begin with but it's little on the bland side. Next time I'll try adding in some other veggies/ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was so good! I doubled the recipe and the only I changed was using half beef and half turkey. I put it in the crock pot early and it we ate off of it for two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
5 stars for super simple, 4 stars for taste. Very good. I added an extra can of tomatoes, bc I love tomatoes. I like green onions to garnish, my son likes crushed tortilla chips. I highly suggest stirring in the sour cream. Really adds flavor. Didn't think spicy enough. Next time I'll use hot salsa, or tomatoes with green chilies instead. I added ground red pepper. Overall, I love it and will make it again. Simply, satisfiying and uses things you actually have in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This stew is fantastic. I have so many people asking for the recipe and they rave about how delish this dish is! I used Sargento's shredded taco cheese to add a kick. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
We used ground turkey instead of ground beef and let it simmer in the crockpot all day long. No other changes to the recipe. It was GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I have this same recipe just a little different. I add 1lb. of ground beef 1 1/2 c of onion and 1/2 c of celery and chop together in food processor. We add 1 can of rotel 2 can of pinto beans (drained) 1 can of corn 1 can of jalapeno black eyed peas with flavore slab bacon (it adds some spice and really good) 1 tsp of cumin 1/2 tsp garli powder and i add 1/2 a pakage of chili seasoning. This is a favorite in my family we eat at least 4 time a month and its really good left overs if you add water and heat it up and add the cheese and crakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Good but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I followed the directions to this recipe with the exception of using black beans. This was a delicious stew. The flavors worked well together especially after simmering in the crock pot all day. I served this with the Absolute Mexican Cornbread from this website. My husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
We didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States