Southwest Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
This is really good. A little fresh finely chopped jalapeno or habenero pepper is a great addition and simmered with the other ingredients. Also at the end a pinch of coriander and a dollop of sour cream as a garnish. Vegetarians use your favorite tvp meat substitute for the ground beef I used Worthingtons Gran Burger 1 cup soaked in one cup warm water for 15 minutes in place of the ground beef. It turned out really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
EXCELLENT! I only used 1 lb beef, didn't drain the tomatoes, used northen beans, and added an additional cup of water. Excellent!! We loved it! It was still very thick but hey! That's a good stew! Loved the mild southwest flair and was filling and delicious. A dollop of sour cream and a little shredded cheddar cheese and viola! Its definately a recipe that I will make again! Thanks so much for this LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
This stew was good and easy, but note it serves more than 4 people - which may explain the nutritional information (72 g of fat per serving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Loved this recipe! Made a few changes. I used 1 lb. of ground beef instead of 2 and added a can of black beans. I also used a whole jar of salsa instead of 1 cup (by accident). It turned out great! Will make this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Very easy to prepare! Use a slow cooker to let flavors abound! I added a little cajun seasoning and a pinch of cayenne pepper! Great when topped with the cheese and a spoonful of sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I have made this twice so far with a little twist each time. I followed some other suggestions and cut down slightly on the amount of meat. I used 2 cans Ro-tel instead of the tomatoes and salsa, taco seasoning in place of the cumin, and minced garlic instead of garlic powder. The second time I made it, I completely omitted the potatoes and served it spooned over corn bread and topped with shredded cheese and a spoonful of sour cream. My husband and parents all agree that this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFLOROM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
pretty decent - i used ground turkey (and only about a pound) but otherwise made it as written. tasty, but not an award winner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
WOW! This was excellent and very easy to prepare. After reading the suggestions of others I used 1 1/2 lb. hamburger, 2 t. minced garlic instead of the powder and added 1 can of Rotel tomatoes,1 can Great Northern beans and an extra 1/2 can of water. I will be making this soup again and again! Thanks so much for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This is a simple and flavorful stew. My husband and I are totally in love with it! The smell of it cooking all day is just divine. So yummy! Can't say enough good things about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This stew was so good. I added more liquid to it though. The family loved it. It's a keeper as far as my family is concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States