Southwest Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
This is really good. A little fresh finely chopped jalapeno or habenero pepper is a great addition and simmered with the other ingredients. Also at the end a pinch of coriander and a dollop of sour cream as a garnish. Vegetarians use your favorite tvp meat substitute for the ground beef I used Worthingtons Gran Burger 1 cup soaked in one cup warm water for 15 minutes in place of the ground beef. It turned out really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
EXCELLENT! I only used 1 lb beef, didn't drain the tomatoes, used northen beans, and added an additional cup of water. Excellent!! We loved it! It was still very thick but hey! That's a good stew! Loved the mild southwest flair and was filling and delicious. A dollop of sour cream and a little shredded cheddar cheese and viola! Its definately a recipe that I will make again! Thanks so much for this LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
This stew was good and easy, but note it serves more than 4 people - which may explain the nutritional information (72 g of fat per serving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Loved this recipe! Made a few changes. I used 1 lb. of ground beef instead of 2 and added a can of black beans. I also used a whole jar of salsa instead of 1 cup (by accident). It turned out great! Will make this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Very easy to prepare! Use a slow cooker to let flavors abound! I added a little cajun seasoning and a pinch of cayenne pepper! Great when topped with the cheese and a spoonful of sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I have made this twice so far with a little twist each time. I followed some other suggestions and cut down slightly on the amount of meat. I used 2 cans Ro-tel instead of the tomatoes and salsa, taco seasoning in place of the cumin, and minced garlic instead of garlic powder. The second time I made it, I completely omitted the potatoes and served it spooned over corn bread and topped with shredded cheese and a spoonful of sour cream. My husband and parents all agree that this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFLOROM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
pretty decent - i used ground turkey (and only about a pound) but otherwise made it as written. tasty, but not an award winner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
WOW! This was excellent and very easy to prepare. After reading the suggestions of others I used 1 1/2 lb. hamburger, 2 t. minced garlic instead of the powder and added 1 can of Rotel tomatoes,1 can Great Northern beans and an extra 1/2 can of water. I will be making this soup again and again! Thanks so much for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This is a simple and flavorful stew. My husband and I are totally in love with it! The smell of it cooking all day is just divine. So yummy! Can't say enough good things about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This stew was so good. I added more liquid to it though. The family loved it. It's a keeper as far as my family is concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States