Southwest Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
5 stars for super simple, 4 stars for taste. Very good. I added an extra can of tomatoes, bc I love tomatoes. I like green onions to garnish, my son likes crushed tortilla chips. I highly suggest stirring in the sour cream. Really adds flavor. Didn't think spicy enough. Next time I'll use hot salsa, or tomatoes with green chilies instead. I added ground red pepper. Overall, I love it and will make it again. Simply, satisfiying and uses things you actually have in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This stew is fantastic. I have so many people asking for the recipe and they rave about how delish this dish is! I used Sargento's shredded taco cheese to add a kick. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
We used ground turkey instead of ground beef and let it simmer in the crockpot all day long. No other changes to the recipe. It was GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I have this same recipe just a little different. I add 1lb. of ground beef 1 1/2 c of onion and 1/2 c of celery and chop together in food processor. We add 1 can of rotel 2 can of pinto beans (drained) 1 can of corn 1 can of jalapeno black eyed peas with flavore slab bacon (it adds some spice and really good) 1 tsp of cumin 1/2 tsp garli powder and i add 1/2 a pakage of chili seasoning. This is a favorite in my family we eat at least 4 time a month and its really good left overs if you add water and heat it up and add the cheese and crakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Good but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I followed the directions to this recipe with the exception of using black beans. This was a delicious stew. The flavors worked well together especially after simmering in the crock pot all day. I served this with the Absolute Mexican Cornbread from this website. My husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
We didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I have made this twice so far with a little twist each time. I followed some other suggestions and cut down slightly on the amount of meat. I used 2 cans Ro-tel instead of the tomatoes and salsa, taco seasoning in place of the cumin, and minced garlic instead of garlic powder. The second time I made it, I completely omitted the potatoes and served it spooned over corn bread and topped with shredded cheese and a spoonful of sour cream. My husband and parents all agree that this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFLOROM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Tried this tonight and everyone loved it. I changed it a bit, because we like spicier food. I used a whole jar of Sam's Black bean and corn salsa, taco seasoning, rotel tomatoes, green chilies and lime, and added also 1 tbs lime juice and 1 tsp oregano. I used a liberal dose of red pepper sauce as well. I also tripled the amount of garlic (we REALLY like garlic). We didn't like the cheese on top, it made the soup gooey and stringy. All in all, I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Mcclellan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
We just finished having this for supper tonight. Everyone really liked it. I will definately make this again, although I did make a few changes. Used 1.5 lbs of ground beef, 28oz can of tomatoes, 1 cup of frozen corn, cut back on the water to 1 cup, 2 cloves of garlic instead of the garlic powder, pinch of red pepper flakes, and about 3tsp of taco seasoning, although I think it should have only been 2. I found it a little spicey but my kids both thought it was excellent. I would also add 2 more potatoes because I love potatoes in stew. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States