Southwest Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This recipe was a great starting point for some delicious stew. We did not add the jarred salsa, instead I used roasted hatch green chilies (about 2 ounces by weight) and then gave it a little bit of smoky heat by adding a heavy 1/4 teaspoon of ground chipotle chili. It was flavorful and our meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Photo by miss_sai
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Not a bad soup at all! The cheese really sets it off. It wasnt the most amazing thing in the world but for the ingredients and effort it is def something ill make again. I used the crock pot and let it simmer for a few hours. I only used 1 lb of ground beef and used two cans of beans. I used chicken broth instead of water to give it more flavor because I had no salsa on hand. All in all this was a very good and extremely easy and hearty meal. Put it in homemade bread bowls and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This looks really good, I haven't made it;I'm looking for a specific recipe. Does anybody have a pinto bean soup that has hamburger and elbow macaroni pasta in it? I've had it before, but can't find a recipe for it. I'm sure it is pretty intuitive but some ideas ahead of time would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
It was fine - but certainly not worthy of the same ratings as other 5-star soups/stews on this site. Disappointing, really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I use half the beef, 2x's the beans (today I had black and kidney), double the corn (I use frozen) and don't use the potato. Always a hit and always even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This will feed my boyfriend and I for days. It has lots of flavor and is very hearty. Great recipe. We added a can of Rotel instead of plain diced tomatoes and added one chopped Hot Italian sausage instead of the second pound of ground beef. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Excellent! Loved it just like it is. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMLEHMAN
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
very easy. i used sweet potatoes and black beans (in place of pinto). added a dash of nutmeg and served with sour cream and cheese. needs a little more kick- i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
pretty decent - i used ground turkey (and only about a pound) but otherwise made it as written. tasty, but not an award winner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was a hearty stew. I used Bison meat and it tasted great. I also put everything in a crock pot and let it simmer all day. Quick and easy ... great recipe for those cold and chilly days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie10002

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States