Southwest Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
A great way to use up leftovers, you could use chicken, beef, pork whatever. I had some leftover pork roast, so I simmered the diced pork in 6 oz of beer and the water in from the recipe for 15 minutes. Then I followed the receipt except I used black beans, didn't have pintos. WOW this was just great will make it again. OH yea I added the last 6 oz of beer into the pot as it simmered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I made this recipe last week and my family really loved it! I didn't have any picante sauce on hand so I used Salsa instead and it was excellent! Next time I'll try adding some taco seasoning as suggested by a few others here. Also may be good topped with some crumbled tortilla chips and a dollop of sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Detmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I added an extra can of whole tomatoes, pinto beans, then added black beans and an envelope of taco season. my husband and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
The whole family loved this stew. I did add more cumin and chili powder and red pepper. It came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
OMGoooodness!! This was so wonderful. I made this on a cold snowy day. I used chicken as recommended by another user and it was fantastic! I didn't have any corn on hand, but it was still really good without it. My small children even loved it. I will be making this again, Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazybuzymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good -- I also added more tomatoes -- did 1 lb beef + 1 chopped/cooked chicken breast (vs. 2 lbs beef). Added black beans. Another great addition - add a packet of Ranch Dressing mix (powder-not dressing) - makes it less watery. Also works in a slow cooker on low for a 3-4 hours (then you don't have to precook the chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was a great soup. I threw everything exactly as stated adding a packet of taco seasoning into a crockpot during breakfast and it was ready by lunch time. All of the neighborhood kids went to town scooping it up with tostidos. There wasnt any left for the husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I was looking for something a little differnt and came across this recipe,after all the rave reviews I thought I would give it a try! I am so glad I did,everyone LOVED it,the entire pot was gone! the flavors are just incredible!I like others did make a few additional changes,I added another can of tomato's,I used a large 28 oz.can of corn,and a jar of medium salsa and packet of taco seasoning for extra kick of heat,it was perfect! I will make this again and again! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is very good and easy to make. I used chicken instead of beef. I seasoned some boneless chicken breasts with chili powder and garlic powder and cooked them on the george forean grill. I shredded them and put in the stew. Also I added potatos...made it a heartier stew and was really good! I also added an extra small can of tomatoes and black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaSunshine03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This soup was super easy to make and very good! I added an extra can of rotel tomatoes to spice it up a little more for my husband, but followed the recipe exactly other than that. I will make this stew again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyndaslp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States