Southwest Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I used morning star veggie crumble3s (soy) instead of the ground beef and omitted the corn because I didn't have any on hand, but this stew came out perfect for a vegetarian and her hungry and carnivorous boyfriend. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was a great soup. I threw everything exactly as stated adding a packet of taco seasoning into a crockpot during breakfast and it was ready by lunch time. All of the neighborhood kids went to town scooping it up with tostidos. There wasnt any left for the husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Super quick and lots of flavor! Added 1 packet of taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I was looking for something a little differnt and came across this recipe,after all the rave reviews I thought I would give it a try! I am so glad I did,everyone LOVED it,the entire pot was gone! the flavors are just incredible!I like others did make a few additional changes,I added another can of tomato's,I used a large 28 oz.can of corn,and a jar of medium salsa and packet of taco seasoning for extra kick of heat,it was perfect! I will make this again and again! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good -- I also added more tomatoes -- did 1 lb beef + 1 chopped/cooked chicken breast (vs. 2 lbs beef). Added black beans. Another great addition - add a packet of Ranch Dressing mix (powder-not dressing) - makes it less watery. Also works in a slow cooker on low for a 3-4 hours (then you don't have to precook the chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I used a pound of beef and a pound of lamb and substituted Pabst for water, as well as letting it simmer for two hours. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is very good and easy to make. I used chicken instead of beef. I seasoned some boneless chicken breasts with chili powder and garlic powder and cooked them on the george forean grill. I shredded them and put in the stew. Also I added potatos...made it a heartier stew and was really good! I also added an extra small can of tomatoes and black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaSunshine03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I didn't use any taco seasoning as others suggested because the chicken sausage I used (the only protein I had) was plenty salty. I also used chicken broth instead of water. This is a recipe that lends itself to using any type of meat and adding more veggies if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Very good, I used half chicken half beef my family gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Awesome as it is, no need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States