Southwest Pasta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was a delicious and easy to make meal. I read other reviews and wondered if it would be bland, but I thought it was perfect. The only thing I did different was I used a 16 oz can of tomato sauce, and I used fresh spinach that I dampened, covered, and microwaved for about 45 seconds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This recipe is very good as a base. I added lots of other ingredients. I omitted the tomato sauce and added extra picante. I added a can of chili beans with the liquid. I used macaroni noodles since thats all I had. In the ground beef I added onion and lots of minced garlic (i dont measure but about a Tbsp) and lots of black pepper. In the white sauce I used fresh basil, oregono and flat leaf parsley and about a tsp of garlic. It gave it an unexpected italian twist that I loved. My 7,6 and 4 year old all loved it. Like I said before you can do a lot to this recipe to make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Pretty darn good! Family didn't like it as much but I thought it was great! I think it was the spinach they didn't like much plus I used whole wheat penne. ;) I did add red, yellow and orange pepper to the meat mixture since I had them on hand. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Followed recipe and it was a little bland for a "Southwest" dish. Next time I think I will replace the spinach with green chili to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
My boys usually pick out all of the green things in our food, but I tried this and they loved it. My first grader wants to "marry it." I think the picante flavors cover the bitterness of the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This recipe was absolutely delicious! It even satisfied my finicky little brother. Of course I did add a few touches of my own. First of all, I didn't add the tomato sauce, or the entire can of tomato paste, I was afraid the pasta would turn out too sour. Also, I added some fresh basil leaves teh teh cream cheese and spinach mixture. Baking the olives turned out delicious as well. This is really a great recipe for an easy family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I really like this recipe and have made it several times; it's pretty much a Mexican ziti. I think that a full package of cream cheese is too much, it ends up taking over the dish. Perhaps that the amount of 'kick' other reviewers are complaining is lacking is due to the variety of picante sauces out there. If you uses a good salsa, this recipe turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass Deliciae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I thought this was alright. My 10 year old wasn't too impressed, but he doesn't like mexican food much. I would have to say that the prep time for me was closer to30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was excellent with lots of flavor!! It would be a great dish to serve families with children at a gathering. I used salsa instead of picante sauce and added cilantro and fresh squeezed lime for serving. What a great way to eat spinach without tasting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
My husband was gushing with compliments when I made this for dinner last night. I made a few slight alterations, I used a 13 oz box of Rotini, added half an onion while my meat was browning, and used salsa instead of tomato paste (I forgot that ingredient when I went shopping). Overall, it was delicious. I baked two 8x8 pans and put one in the freezer for a quick fix meal. I've already given this recipe to a handful of people I loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States