Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I would assume if one were to just follow the original recipe it would indeed taste rather bland, however, following Missdvs' advice, I added vegetable oil, diced onion and garlic to the saute pan prior to cooking the whole confection. I then browned the chicken breasts (not diced, whole), letting it soak in the garlic and onion flavor. I added Hungarian spice, chili powder, a pinch of salt and pepper. I then added the tomatoes and diced green chili's, the black beans (rinsed) and the corn (drained and rinsed) and cumin. To top it off as a special treat I sprinkled Mexican style cheese over the top lightly- it added to the meal nicely. My husband and I agreed that this meal could make for excellent serve-yourself chicken burritos- but just an idea ;) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Schembri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was quick and easy to make! I cubed my chicken and used evoo instead of vegetable oil to cook my chicken in. I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper and chili powder then I sprinkled the cumin over everything like the recipe says to. I also added onion and minced garlic. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
made exactly to recipe and my hubby and I both thought the sauce was ok but chicken bland and dry from pan frying. If I make it again I would add red pepper, onion, and use a medium rotel or perhaps salsa and use my crock pot so chicken would be moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Good! Would make again. Very light and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Love it! I make this as a meal prep for lunches at the office. Just throw it over brown rice and your good to go. Delicious with sautéed onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used Bush's Grillin' Beans! They already have all the peppers, beans, corn, and lots of heat! Super in foil over the camp fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Made this last evening for supper and we all thought it was great. My hubby doesn't care much for chicken and he even liked it. I will definitely make this again and probably double it so we have some left for lunches. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States