Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Easy and tastes pretty good! I thought it was a bit too soupy with the canned diced tomatoes. May try using fresh diced tomatoes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Here is what I did: I sprinkled 1 tbsp chilli powder & 1 tbsp minced onion spice over 1lb uncooked chicken pieces, and let sit for a few hours. I sauté 4 cloves of garlic and 1/2 tsp cumin. Then I added 1 small onion. Next I browned the chicken pieces. and added the tomatoes, beans and corn. I let it all simmer for about 20 minutes, while I cooked some spanish rice. It was awesome served over the spanish rice, as it would have been pretty liquidy to just plop on the plate as it was. Prepared this way, I give this 5 stars. Would be good topped with green onions and cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
My husband absolutely loved this recipe! I made it exactly as stated and served with white rice. Would also be great served with tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Excellent- I followed directions as written on recipe exactly and it was great. Served with lime tortilla chips and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe. Like others I added onion, garlic, chilli powder, red pepper flakes, and some crushed black pepper. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Made this tongiht and it was great. I cooked it in the crock pot for 4 hours on high and added maybe a 1/2 c water to it. I added more cumin, chilli powder, garlic salt and 1/2 onion and cilantro. Topped with cheese and more cilantro (I love it!) I also added more salt. It just needed something. A lemon or lime might have been good but my husband hates it when I add that. Very good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
It didn't have enough spice for me. It seemed a bit bland. Perhaps I should of added more, or something else to it. I may try it again, but next time add more of a twist to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I make a recipe very similar to this, but instead of a can of tomatoes with green chilies, I use a jar of salsa. That might help with some of the other users that thought this recipe was too bland. Serve with rice and it's a super quick and healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great recipe!! Didn't change much, seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning; then seasoned the simmering mixture with chili powder and served with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was okay. We ended up eating it on tortillas because it fell all apart. It was the same as burritos but with chicken. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States