Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Even better the next day! We put it in some corn tortillas and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was good - simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Good for a quick dinner but average on taste. This reminded me of Moe's chicken rice bowl, which I like.I did cut my chicken into pieces but will probably just roast my chicken breast in oven first next time, then sherd. I added onions, chili powder and up'ed the cumin. Served with rice and grilled tortillas. Cheese, sour cream, tomato chunks and cilantro on the side. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Did not find this one to be that special. Somewhat ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Quick and easy, but kind of a pain to serve. Next time I make it (if I make it again) I'll cube the chicken before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This dish was extremely good! I cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces rather than using whole breasts. Per other reviewers' suggestions, I added a lot of seasoning (salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder, and oregano), which I think was crucial to the dish. I served it with Spanish rice. It was so easy and healthy that I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe is wonderful!! It is fresh and the chicken was super moist. I will definitly make again. I add some Sirachi sauce for extra spice and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My power was off all day and my plans to have friends over tonight to eat my pork from the crock pot were ruined and I came across this. I thought it was a good basic recipe which I'll keep evolving. I sauteed the frozen chicken tenderloins in some olive oil with minced garlic, onion powder, and cumin on medium heat with the lid on, stirring regularly, to cook the frozen chicken until cooked through, 10 min maybe. I also started some brown rice cooking to serve with it. I threw in a sliced bell pepper (I buy when on sale and keep these sliced and frozen so I can throw them in whenever), two cans of tomatoes, two cans of black beans (rinsed and drained), and two cans of corn (drained) and let it simmer for awhile probably about 30 minutes, but you could do it in as few as 10. I was worried I might have to add some flour as it was very soupy from the tomatoes but, as others mentioned, it does thicken after you take it off the heat. Not everyone was a huge fan, but I loved that it was super simple, healthy, and budget friendly. The kids drenched theirs in ranch and my Mexican husband squeezed lime juice. I'm sure I'll make it again, and will likely add cream cheese or even the Philly Cooking cream in southwest flavor, or even a ranch sour cream dip would be good too if you like the creamy texture. I've frozen our leftovers and will probably add some shredded pork to eat on tortillas next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Super easy and quick, a great meal for a busy weeknight. After cooking, I ended up cutting up the chicken and mixing everything together to use as a filling for tortillas. Some added cheese, lettuce, sour cream and salsa, finished them off perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Caine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States