Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I added onion as others suggested and sautéed as chicken browned. I used Rotel tomatoes with chiles and it was plenty spicy for us. Also used frozen corn - a can full - can from black beans. I cooked for awhile without lid to absorb some of the juice. We liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Very easy to make and did not take long either. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 due to fact that I had to tweak it a little to suit our tastes. The changes I made included adding a can of green chiles, adding 1 Tbsp. of chili powder and used about 1 to 1-1/2 tsp. cumin instead of the pinch as called for. These few additions seemed to make a world of difference, at least for our family it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Awesome! Will definitely become a staple. I followed the recipe, but added a couple drops of habanero hot sauce to spice it up a bit, no chili powder, garlic, or onion like others have. You should make this tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I guess I used this recipe as more of a guide. I didn't have any chili peppers, but I did add about a teaspoon of chili powder to spice it up a bit, as well as a couple garlic cloves. I also am not able to find black beans where I live, so I replaced them with kidney beans. Served it with rice. Overall, it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I sauteed onions and garlic when browning the chicken. This was delicious and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HollyG
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! It is so simple and easy, yet incredibly tasty and DELICIOUS! I also first sauteed two onions and a couple of cloves of garlic, and then added the chicken. Instead of using cumin (I don't like it), I used chili powder and garlic powder! Another small change I made upon the second time making this recipe, is that I used a 19oz can of diced tomatoes and I really found that it made this dish a bit more saucy, as a lot of the liquid evaporates while simmering. If you can't find diced tomatoes with green chili peppers, that's ok, either don't use chili peppers, or buy a small can from the Mexican food aisle in your grocery store, OR buy fresh chili pepper and dice 'em up! I also used frozen corn instead of canned, and I made Spanish rice from Uncle Ben's, which was a great side dish, although I mixed everything in my bowl all together and it was a bit like paella! Last addition, I made fresh guacamole, and it was fantastic to put atop this masterpiece! Very filling and healthy dinner, just remember moderation! Have left overs for lunch the next day! Bonne appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I LOVED this dish. I normally don't enjoy southwest type dishes, but this is delicious. I'm not a huge spicy fan and this was just the right amount of zesty. If you are looking for a big kick, I'd make sure to add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I served this last night and it was voted a keeper. I adjusted it after reading some reviews, by seasoning the chicken with Paula Deens' house seasoning and my homemade taco seasoning after cutting into bite sized pieces. After chicken was browned with some onion I added a large can of Rotel tomatoes and chilies with one can each of black beans and corn. I served over brown rice. Did not need the cumin. AWESOME. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States