Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I LOVED this dish. I normally don't enjoy southwest type dishes, but this is delicious. I'm not a huge spicy fan and this was just the right amount of zesty. If you are looking for a big kick, I'd make sure to add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I served this last night and it was voted a keeper. I adjusted it after reading some reviews, by seasoning the chicken with Paula Deens' house seasoning and my homemade taco seasoning after cutting into bite sized pieces. After chicken was browned with some onion I added a large can of Rotel tomatoes and chilies with one can each of black beans and corn. I served over brown rice. Did not need the cumin. AWESOME. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is potentially quite nice but a little bland! For me, south western cooking has a little more to it, and this really needed a lot more 'oomph' - I added 1 heaped tsp ground cumin plus a little minced jalapeno chilli (or 1/2 tsp chilli powder); some dried oregano; 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon and I served with some sour cream. Much improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is a great recipe to serve as a main dish, shred the chicken for a salad, or use in a tortilla. You can also modify the recipe by adding jalapenos (minus the seeds for me!), chili powder, onion, green/red peppers, using whatever beans you have on hand, or cooking the chicken with fresh garlic. Also, fresh corn scraped off the cob adds incredible flavor. As is, this recipe is great, but you can also use it as a springboard to create other variations. I make this for my husband because he has to eat low fat, but it has tons of flavor. He loves it. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is a simple -- very simple -- recipe. Followed it pretty closely, using a third less oil, sweating 1/4 cup onion and 2 cloves of garlic before adding the chicken (given other reviewers' suggestions). DH was not particularly impressed; to be honest, neither was I for a main course. But it's a good lunch when you want something relatively healthy and relatively quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Was very tasty, but would have been better in a tortilla as a chicken soft taco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoonerSweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was good and also reasonably quick to prepare. I used butter instead of vegetable oil added fresh garlic and onion sauteed until translucent and then browned the chicken. 1/2 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of New Mexico chili powder and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was an excellent base recipe. Per the suggestion of other reviewers, sauteed onion and garlic in the oil first, and then added other ingredients. I would recommend adding a tad more seasoning-- I used a little taco seasoning, and a few hits of chipotle poweder and chili powder as well as the suggested cumin. I also chopped the chicken into small pieces, and served the dish with Mexican-style rice-a-roni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was very good! I made it and put inside of tortilla shells with a pinch of cheese to make quesedillas. It would also make a great starter for soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
From a family who does not usually eat beans, this recipe is a KEEPER! It is delicious and easy. I do add a second can of tomatoes with chile's for a bit more flavor and juice. Yummy, easy and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States