Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was good and also reasonably quick to prepare. I used butter instead of vegetable oil added fresh garlic and onion sauteed until translucent and then browned the chicken. 1/2 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of New Mexico chili powder and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was an excellent base recipe. Per the suggestion of other reviewers, sauteed onion and garlic in the oil first, and then added other ingredients. I would recommend adding a tad more seasoning-- I used a little taco seasoning, and a few hits of chipotle poweder and chili powder as well as the suggested cumin. I also chopped the chicken into small pieces, and served the dish with Mexican-style rice-a-roni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was very good! I made it and put inside of tortilla shells with a pinch of cheese to make quesedillas. It would also make a great starter for soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
From a family who does not usually eat beans, this recipe is a KEEPER! It is delicious and easy. I do add a second can of tomatoes with chile's for a bit more flavor and juice. Yummy, easy and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was really easy and really good! I did have some diced onions on hand and also seasoned the chicken with garlic salt and cayenne paper. Thats all I did extra! We ate wrapped in tortillas and sprinkled with cheddar cheese! Supper yummy! Husband really liked :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by bluelagooniesd
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was an easy weeknight dinner. I added a LOT more spice than suggested, and it went over pretty well. I found that it had to cook a bit longer than directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluelagooniesd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this with the additions that were recommended by many, but as a vegetarian, I used Quorn Chik'n tenders. Browned them a bit just as the recipe called for for chicken. WOW! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was so easy to make and had a lot of flavor. I stuck to the recipe as written, and had enough sauce left over to make a spanish omelette the next day. It was really good. If you're looking for a quick, tasty way to prepare chicken, I would recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was very bland and the chicken turned out somewhat rubbery and flavorless. I ended up just eating the toppings and leaving the chicken behind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
i served the chicken by itself, it had enough flavoring from cooking with the other ingredients all day. as a side i served brown rice and poured the southwest mixture over it and topped with low fat sour cream. i also substituted garbonzo beans, sounded wierd, but it was all we had and it was actually perfect with it! i cant believe it but my 5 and 2 year old loved it! it was sooo flavorful and delicous!!! this is a must for the weekly menu! it was simple and fast to make and my whole family loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States