Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I guess I used this recipe as more of a guide. I didn't have any chili peppers, but I did add about a teaspoon of chili powder to spice it up a bit, as well as a couple garlic cloves. I also am not able to find black beans where I live, so I replaced them with kidney beans. Served it with rice. Overall, it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I sauteed onions and garlic when browning the chicken. This was delicious and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HollyG
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! It is so simple and easy, yet incredibly tasty and DELICIOUS! I also first sauteed two onions and a couple of cloves of garlic, and then added the chicken. Instead of using cumin (I don't like it), I used chili powder and garlic powder! Another small change I made upon the second time making this recipe, is that I used a 19oz can of diced tomatoes and I really found that it made this dish a bit more saucy, as a lot of the liquid evaporates while simmering. If you can't find diced tomatoes with green chili peppers, that's ok, either don't use chili peppers, or buy a small can from the Mexican food aisle in your grocery store, OR buy fresh chili pepper and dice 'em up! I also used frozen corn instead of canned, and I made Spanish rice from Uncle Ben's, which was a great side dish, although I mixed everything in my bowl all together and it was a bit like paella! Last addition, I made fresh guacamole, and it was fantastic to put atop this masterpiece! Very filling and healthy dinner, just remember moderation! Have left overs for lunch the next day! Bonne appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I LOVED this dish. I normally don't enjoy southwest type dishes, but this is delicious. I'm not a huge spicy fan and this was just the right amount of zesty. If you are looking for a big kick, I'd make sure to add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I served this last night and it was voted a keeper. I adjusted it after reading some reviews, by seasoning the chicken with Paula Deens' house seasoning and my homemade taco seasoning after cutting into bite sized pieces. After chicken was browned with some onion I added a large can of Rotel tomatoes and chilies with one can each of black beans and corn. I served over brown rice. Did not need the cumin. AWESOME. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is potentially quite nice but a little bland! For me, south western cooking has a little more to it, and this really needed a lot more 'oomph' - I added 1 heaped tsp ground cumin plus a little minced jalapeno chilli (or 1/2 tsp chilli powder); some dried oregano; 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon and I served with some sour cream. Much improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is a great recipe to serve as a main dish, shred the chicken for a salad, or use in a tortilla. You can also modify the recipe by adding jalapenos (minus the seeds for me!), chili powder, onion, green/red peppers, using whatever beans you have on hand, or cooking the chicken with fresh garlic. Also, fresh corn scraped off the cob adds incredible flavor. As is, this recipe is great, but you can also use it as a springboard to create other variations. I make this for my husband because he has to eat low fat, but it has tons of flavor. He loves it. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is a simple -- very simple -- recipe. Followed it pretty closely, using a third less oil, sweating 1/4 cup onion and 2 cloves of garlic before adding the chicken (given other reviewers' suggestions). DH was not particularly impressed; to be honest, neither was I for a main course. But it's a good lunch when you want something relatively healthy and relatively quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Was very tasty, but would have been better in a tortilla as a chicken soft taco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZsGirl830

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States