Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Needs a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Super easy and delicious. Here are some helpful modifications: I added onion and garlic with the chicken. After they were browned, I added red pepper, garlic pepper, and paprika to spice it up. After I finished cooking the meal, I also added cheese and broken pieces of blue corn tortilla chips to the servings. You can also put this on a flour or corn tortilla for a tasty taco/burrito! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Needed more spice but good. Served with rice and that dulled it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Tasty! My hubs and I liked this quite a bit, albeit with a bit of doctoring on my part. :) I felt this would be pretty bleh as written, so to add a little pizzaz, I seasoned my chicken (which I cubed) with 1/4 teaspoon each of chipotle chili powder, cumin and salt. I also sautéed a small chopped onion and minced garlic clove in a little EVOO BEFORE browning my chicken. I then proceeded as directed. Because I was only serving two adults, I halved everything (which was easy to do since I already had a half can of beans in my fridge and was measuring the corn from a bag in my freezer). Serving this over brown rice with cubed avocado, a dollop of sour cream and fresh lime was a fantastic (and yummy!) idea. Thanks for sharing your healthy recipe, Tamcattt. With a little tweaking, this wasn't bland in the least! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Added onion, garlic, salt, pepper, no cumin, added chili powder, a bit of taco mix, had some string beans on hand, cooked it and served over rice, everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Thi recipe was good. As is, I think it would have been a little bland, so per other reviews I added some salt and pepper to the chicken and some garlic to the mix. Next time I think I'll add some chicli powder and possibly onions. All in all it was a good healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I would assume if one were to just follow the original recipe it would indeed taste rather bland, however, following Missdvs' advice, I added vegetable oil, diced onion and garlic to the saute pan prior to cooking the whole confection. I then browned the chicken breasts (not diced, whole), letting it soak in the garlic and onion flavor. I added Hungarian spice, chili powder, a pinch of salt and pepper. I then added the tomatoes and diced green chili's, the black beans (rinsed) and the corn (drained and rinsed) and cumin. To top it off as a special treat I sprinkled Mexican style cheese over the top lightly- it added to the meal nicely. My husband and I agreed that this meal could make for excellent serve-yourself chicken burritos- but just an idea ;) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Schembri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was quick and easy to make! I cubed my chicken and used evoo instead of vegetable oil to cook my chicken in. I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper and chili powder then I sprinkled the cumin over everything like the recipe says to. I also added onion and minced garlic. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States