Southwest Chicken Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Did not like it at all. I think probably the major problem was not using fresh lime juice. Anyway, was preparing it for a dinner party and no way would I serve it to my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shirin haris
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Best salad ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This wasn't exactly the southwest salad flavor I was expecting, but I loved it nonetheless. The dressing is really good and I like that it has olive oil in it, but I'm more used to a creamy dressing, similar to the barbecue sauce/ranch mix mentioned by another reviewer. Like others, I added avocado, sweet corn, and substituted cheddar cheese for the Parmesan (cheddar seems more "southwestern" than Parmesan cheese to me). The only thing I might do differently next time is add diced jalapenos to the dressing to add a little kick. This time, however, I splashed a bit of Tabasco on top of the salad for a little heat and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Everyone we have made this salad for has loved it! The dressing is tasty, light and refreshing and is wonderful to eat the next day as well. I poach my chicken so that it is healthy, simple and quick to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Yum!! I used the white meat off a rotisserie chicken, just a little diced yellow onion instead of the red rings, and skipped the cilantro because I didn't have any. Excellent! Thank you for sharing. I made it again, and used diced chicken breast cooked with olive oil and a spice mixture from a friend (salt/pepper/garlic powder). I also switched out the parmesan with grated cheddar this time, and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This salad is awesome! The only thing I did differently was to make extra dressing and used some of it to marinate the chicken before roasting it. This is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Outstanding! I doubled the dressing and marinated the chicken in half the dressing for an hour before cooking. I also added a can of corn and used the tri-color tortilla strips. I used shredded mexican cheese rather than parmesan. Everyone loved this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I, too, doubled the dressing and used half to marinate the chicken before cooking. The taste of the chicken was delicious. I found the dressing for the salad to be too much of a lime taste. I added a little sugar and it cut the acid in the lime and gave it a great flavor (I wouldn't suggest adding the sugar if you are marinating the chicken). I also added some sweet cooked corn to the salad along with black olives. I will use this recipe again for a healthy salad with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
We had this salad for dinner tonight and my husband went crazy over it and even went back for seconds! The only thing I did differently was add corn, avocado, and used cheddar cheese instead of parmesan. The dressing complemented this salad so well! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Refreshing, light and utterly delicious. My teenage sons actually beg me to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States