Southwest Chicken Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I loved this but I changed a couple things. I cut the chicken into chunks and then cooked it in the salad dressing mix. Then I used 1/2 BBQ sauce and 1/2 Ranch dressing mixed together for the dressing. I fed my parents and my husband and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Wow this was excellent!! I added more cilantro, because i love lots! I added some olives and some more lettuce, because i was making for more people. I don't eat chips so I baked some whole grain tortillas with some seasonings till cruchy and put those on it. Very good if you are on the south beach diet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
We loved the salad! I used leftover mesquite marinated chicken. I might decrease the lime juice in the dressing to 3 Tbl. next time--and there will definately be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was a hit at dinner. Added a little more lime juice and sea salt. I added some corn as well. Next time I will add olives & red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
We all love love love this receipe. You can serve it so many ways...over tortilla chips, as a wrap in bread as a sandwich, taco salad filling.........thanx so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I just made this recipe and it was SO good. I used a Mexican cheese blend instead of parmesan cheese. I also marinated the chicken in the dressing and baked it, which made it very tasty. (I recommend making more dressing too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Delicious!!! Will definately be making this again. It's a very light and refreshing salad. I didn't have any cilantro so that's the only thing I left out. I also added a little garlic salt to the dressing. I seasoned a couple of thin chicken breasts with garlic salt, chile powder and cumin. I baked it for 20 min. at 350. I cut the chicken into slices and it was sooo good. The flavor went perfect with the salad. I left out the tortilla chips and cheese to make it healthier. My husband kept raving about it too. It's a keeper! Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Tasty! I made the salad dressing the night before. Increased the amount by half so I could marinate the chicken breast tenders overnight before grilling them on the stove in a grill pan. To give the dressing a little more kick, I cut the chili powder in half and added chipolte pepper . Added some corn leftover from corn on the cob and left out the chips and Parmesan b/c I didn't think the salad needed it. All of my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
The pictures do not do this justice, has amazing flavor. And another amazing thing, I had all the ingredients on hand. A great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this salad. I made it the first time as is and felt the lime flavor was a little strong for my taste. I doubled the recipe and marinated the chicken overnight using half the dressing, as other users suggested. I also used less lime juice ( a little more than 1/4 cup because I doubled the recipe). I used about 3 cloves of garlic and more cilantro than called for - we love garlic and cilantro. I added corn and avocado to the salad, but I think I will cut the avocado, the parm cheese, and the chips next time to have a slightly healthier version of this salad. It has enough flavor on its own and is pretty substantial with the beans, added corn, and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph84106

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States