Southwest Chicken Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I just loved this, the dressing in particular. I thought it might be a little heavy on the cilantro but it wasn't for me, although it was a little much for Hubs. I made the dressing following the recipe exactly and would do so again. For the salad itself, I would have appreciated the addition of corn which I had intended to do and forgot. I used shredded Cheddar cheese rather than the Parmesan because I felt it was a better match for this salad. Instead of crushed or whole tortilla chips I used tortilla strips specifically made for soups and salads. This salad has all the Southwest flavors I enjoy, right in one bowl. It's colorful, crunchy, festive, refreshing, nutritious and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I loved this but I changed a couple things. I cut the chicken into chunks and then cooked it in the salad dressing mix. Then I used 1/2 BBQ sauce and 1/2 Ranch dressing mixed together for the dressing. I fed my parents and my husband and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This is a great salad, I made a couple of changes/amendments - I could not buy any fresh limes so I used Real Lime juice in the bottle, worked well but I think that fresh limes would have made it even better. I only used half the black beans. The biggest change that I did was that I made double the amount of salad dressing and I used half of it to marinate the chicken tenderloins for approx. 1 hour. This really made them so tasty and I believe added to the overall flavor of the salad. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Wow this was excellent!! I added more cilantro, because i love lots! I added some olives and some more lettuce, because i was making for more people. I don't eat chips so I baked some whole grain tortillas with some seasonings till cruchy and put those on it. Very good if you are on the south beach diet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Really looked forward to this, yet just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I just made this recipe and it was SO good. I used a Mexican cheese blend instead of parmesan cheese. I also marinated the chicken in the dressing and baked it, which made it very tasty. (I recommend making more dressing too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Delicious!!! Will definately be making this again. It's a very light and refreshing salad. I didn't have any cilantro so that's the only thing I left out. I also added a little garlic salt to the dressing. I seasoned a couple of thin chicken breasts with garlic salt, chile powder and cumin. I baked it for 20 min. at 350. I cut the chicken into slices and it was sooo good. The flavor went perfect with the salad. I left out the tortilla chips and cheese to make it healthier. My husband kept raving about it too. It's a keeper! Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
We all love love love this receipe. You can serve it so many ways...over tortilla chips, as a wrap in bread as a sandwich, taco salad filling.........thanx so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was a hit at dinner. Added a little more lime juice and sea salt. I added some corn as well. Next time I will add olives & red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I used Gardein Chick'n with just a couple of other changes and this recipe was SO GOOD. I changed the 1/4 cup of oil to only a couple tablespoons, omitted the Parmesan cheese, and used fresh lettuce from the backyard instead of the romaine. The seasonings were fabulous and it turned out wonderfully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Itasca, Illinois, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States