Southwest Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I love the mexican flavor of this simple casserole. I make it in the oven rather than the microwave. I bake at 350 for about 25 minutes and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This recipe was very easy & would have been very fast if I had used precooked chicken. (I didn't want to use the canned stuff.) I also made some changes, but only minor ones. I used cream of chicken soup (not everyone in the house likes mushrooms), omitted the chilies & used jalepeno montery jack cheese instead. I also threw in some medium cheddar cheese. We were amazed that this tasted so good! We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This was okay but nothing special. I used fresh chicken, real onion, and long grain rice instead of the canned/dried/instant which I think improved the flavor, but it was still bland and could have used some more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made this with fresh, cooked chicken breast and it was still horrid. I don't even want to imagine what it would have tasted like with canned chicken. I only gave it the second star for quickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2001
I never make microwave recipes, but I was in a bind for time so I thought I'd give it a try. It was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
For a family to is'nt really excited about tuna, this recipe was a big hit. My teens wanted to know in advance what was in it, but I convinced them to taste first. The green chiles give a great pepper taste without extra heat. Thanks for being there when I needed a new approach to tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I thought that this recipe sounded so nice and quick and easy so I tried it and was so disappointed. It tastes awful and I used real chicken and real onion. I don't even know where to start to make this taste better, so I won't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
I used this recipe with the albacore tuna.... it was great! The entire family loved it except my 2 year old.... not colorful enough? I made mine with regular rice and baked in the oven as my family likes a crunchy top. I was so flavorful! I even used low fat cheese and low fat mushroom soup! I am looking forward to "refrying" the leftovers, and serving it as a side dish with Pork chops. This is Yummy!!!! My husband was skeptical, and he loved it, even had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made this pretty close to as it was written. The only changes I made were that I used chicken breast I'd boiled myself and cut up, since I dislike canned meat, and I baked it at 350 for 25 minutes rather than microwaved. It was okay. It turned out fine and we ate it and liked it well enough, but it seemed to be missing something. My husband and I stirred in some salsa with ours and that helped a bit. I'll probably make this again, but I'll add either some corn or black beans, and something else for seasoning. I think a mixture of cheddar cheese and pepperjack cheese would be good. Overall, a quick and basic recipe that just needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlieJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
My family didn't like this at all. It was bland. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States