Southwest Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I used extra dressing to cook the chicken and after picking out the chicken for the casserole, added the extra dressing to water and cooked the rice with it. Also used sour cream and green onions as a topping. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Walled Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was really good. Had to give it only 4 stars because I really screwed up. I had decided on making this dish early in the day, so by 6:30pm when I started to making it I realized I didn't even have all the ingredients. Argh! So, I improvised and even with my screw up it was so good. I had to use red onion (didn't have green) and I cooked it with the chicken. Then I had no black beans, only non-fat refried. I smothered those on the bottom of the casserole, then topped with the chicken. We love corn so I used closer to 1 cup. Then I realized I only had about 2 Tbs salsa. So I substituted 3/4 a can of diced tomatoes with chili, garlic and cilantro and mixed in some more diced green chilis. Stuck that in the oven, covered. Then to top it off I only had Colby Monterey Jack, not Mexican, and served it over brown rice. But it all worked. You know its a great recipe when you can mess up and it still turns out good. I'm keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
The chicken turned out amazing and I might use it this way in other recipes. Quick and delicious, I'll definitely make this over and over again. Would be very easy to double the recipe for a larger family in a 9x13 casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I didn't have the pre-packaged taco seasoning mix, but All Recipes had a great, quick recipe with all the spices in my cabinet. This perfectly matched what I had available without having to go out and shop. Big hit with my boys who demanded a repeat performance next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Made this tonight and we loved it! I used boil in a bag whole grain wild rice boiling it halfway into the 20 min cooktime in the oven and everything was done at same time. We used two bags of the rice. Delicious. My husband added guacamole and we dipped some tortilla chips in it. I used a square 2qt glass baking dish and got 4 hearty servings out of this recipe. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Very yummy!! To suit my family, I made it a one-dish dinner, combining everything except the cheese, which was added at the end of baking. I cooked the onion with the chicken and used chicken broth to cook the rice. This is an extremely versatile dish, so I'm sure I'll be using this frequently without it getting boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Good recipe: fast, tasty, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was a good dish. I don't care for green onions, so left those out. We will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was really tasty. I used different brand named items for the dressing (used 1/4cup) and salsa (used about 1.5 cups), and I used Taco Seasoning Mix I from allrecipes.com. Also, used entire can of black beans. I didn't layer ingredients, just mixed together everything but cheese and rice. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States