Southwest Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This turned out delicious! Hubby and kids loved it. I boiled frozen chicken breast to also make chicken broth. I also used fresh baby carrots and sliced them myself and tweaked the rice a little; I didn't only have wild rice, but have a quinoa rice blend that turned out excellent in this soup. I used plain yogurt& a little bit of almond/coconut milk in place of whipping cream. I will definitely make this again! -- SAHM of 2, Humble,TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I had to improvise, but this turned out very good! I realized that I the Pepper Jack I thought I had was swiss, so used Colby Jack instead. Forgot to add the cream and decided to use some adobo sauce instead of the chipotle chili powder. I also used fresh carrots, sliced and cooked in the microwave for a couple minutes. The soup was very thick - would have been even if I had remembered the cream, so I might add a little more broth. It also makes a small batch. I think it would serve 3 hungry people at my house. Might double it next time. An excellent soup that we will enjoy again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was delicious. Creamy with just a hint of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
So good! I probably quadrupled the recipe as I just can't make a small batch of soup. I used brown rice as that's what I had on hand. Also minced a chipotle pepper up- really well good with the smoked turkey broth I used. No cream soup, but did add about 4 oz low fat cream cheese instead of the whipping cream. Upped the veggies by adding more fresh carrots, celery, garlic and onion. Also used cubed leftover chicken breast vs. the canned. Hubs usually doesn't care for poultry soups, but really like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgattis
Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
A really good recipe! I did also use fresh carrots & added more of the other ingredients. Also used fresh cooked chicken breasts which was so easy. Yummy! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is one of the best recipes I've ever found. I used fresh carrots (without cooking them to give some crunch to the mix) and one fresh chicken breast cooked slightly in the microwave instead of the canned chicken. My wife prefers to split the cheese between pepper jack and regular montery jack to cool it a bit. Great for a cold windy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
It is whipping cream not sour cream. Whipping cream is what whipped cream is before it is whipped. It can be found in the dairy section in half cartons You may substitute half and half for the whipping cream if you are not sure. Chicken and Wild rice soups tend to be creamy soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryver MystDragon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I just have a question...Is that really whipping cream, or is that supposed to be sour cream??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This soup is pretty good! I used fresh chopped carrots and frozen chicken breasts, chopped. I also didn't have chipotle chili or cumin. It was just spicy enough for me, though if you like heat, you'd better be sure to add those. The soup did have a bit of that "cream of chicken soup" flavor, which is okay for now, but I may try to make my own base next time to avoid that flavor. Overall, a great variation and it was good to try something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States