Southwest Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This was great. I used cilantro paste instead of cilantro. It turned out great. It does have a kick with it and we will try again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Made this w/o the sausage, tasted like salsa. Also added an egg, and cooked on the stove. Totally fell apart so I wouldn't imagine grilling them would be a very good idea. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
great recipe but flavoring needed adjusting because too spicy for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
yum! I've never made burgers with roll sausage before, so this was new for me. I'll definitely make these again! The heat was perfect for us and they were very juicy and flavorful. The only problem I had was keeping them together, but it wasn't too bad. Certainly didn't affect the delicious taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
So good. very easy to make and spicy enough for my husband! We both ate 2! Tastes great on a ciabatta bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Oh my goodness... GOOD burger!!! Made these for my bf and I tonight. I am not a fan of plain grilled burgers, but these HIT THE SPOT! Recipe yields 4 PLUMP burgers. I can normally eat 2, but tonight, all I could manage was 1 (haha!). All I did to modify the recipe was to add a little more than half of a 4 oz. can of mild diced green chilies (drained) and 1/4 c. of plain bread crumbs per other's suggestions, and, instead of grilling, broiled for approximately 4-5 minutes per side. Topped with mild cheddar (my local grocer did not have the smoked variety) and salsa and served with nacho Doritos and homemade pink lemonade to wash it all down. Yum-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Great Burgers!! I used ground turkey instead of the sausage, and I didn't have any chili powder so I used Pampered Chef Southwestern Seasoning (about 1 tablespoon), also increased the cumin a little. Added 1 can of chopped green chilis and a handful of fresh breadcrumbs. The burgers wouldn't have held up to the grill but cooked up nicely in a pan on the stovetop in about 5-6 minutes per side. They didn't have sliced smoked cheddar at my grocery store so I used Chipotle Cheddar (Sargento brand), and it was nice and smoky and added extra bite. No extra condiments needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Can only give this 4 stars because I had to adjust it a bit for my family's taste. It was a bit spicy for my kiddos, otherwise the recipe is great as is. I had to double the recipe. I used 1 lb. sausage and 1 lb beef. I think I will use 1/2 tsp cumin instead of 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Very moist and tender burgers. Had a great amount of spice in it for a little kick but not too much that everyone could not eat them. The smoked cheddar is the key for these burgers. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stover, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Loved these....I used a lb. of extra lean ground chicken instead of the sausage. I sauteed red onion, garlic and diced red peppers. I added them to the chicken with 1 tsp. cumin and 1 tsp. chili powder, added 1/2 can of diced green chilies and added about 1/4c. plain bread crumbs to bind. I grilled these burgers and topped them with a mexican shredded cheese blend and with salsa.....no bun needed! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States