Southwest Black Bean Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My family enjoyed this soup. It is quite spicy. I cut out the red pepper flakes and used 2 fresh jalapenos (seeded). We found that this was plenty of heat for us. I also simmered on stove instead of using crockpot and it was still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Letting this stay in the pot all day made the chicken juicy and tender. I left out the peppers and just half the chili powder which made it kid-friendly. My 9 year old gives it a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I have been making this soup for a few years. I always add a can of cream of chicken soup. It really enhances the flavor and makes the soup heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Venus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Four stars. Like others here, I cut down on the heat. Since it takes several hours to cook you can season to taste as required. I reduced the amount of liquid, since I prefer a thicker stew. Also used a few small pieces of real chicken, skinless, bone in, instead of canned broth. These were added raw later in the cooking process, so the meat wouldn't disintegrate. Dried black beans work fine.It's easy to soak them overnight. It's not exactly the same recipe, but the spice profile is very similar, and that is what provides much of the flavour. Here's my changes: Sauté onion and garlic Add dried black beans soaked overnight and drained. One large can diced tomatoes. Water to cover by a half inch or so. You can always adding boiling water as needed. Add one or two small hot red peppers or jalapeños diced. 2.5 tsp chilli powder. Pinch of red pepper flakes. One tsp of ground cumin. A half teaspoon ground coriander. Salt and pepper to taste. Later in the cooking process add real raw chicken, bone in, if broth isn't being used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This is delicious! I did make a couple changes for what I had on hand. I used chopped chicken breast, kidney beans instead of black beans, and since I have a ton of tomatoes, used those instead of canned. Very easy, simple, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
turned out to be a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is a new regular on our recipe list - easy, hearty and full of flavor. Skipped the jalenpenos and cut the chili pepper in half, just to tone down the heat since my middle-aged stomach can't party like it used to. Still spicy enough for us, with really, really rich flavor. The heat intensifies after you refrige and reheat, just a warning. Served with sour cream and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I made this soup in my crock pot with a few changes by adding kidney beans, chili beans and diced green chilis. My husband and coworkers love it. Easy and tasty. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday and let it cook all day. After running around all day, it was a treat to come home to this soup in the crockpot. Paired with a good sandwich, and it was dinner. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Good flavor but makkes for much gas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States