Southwest Black Bean Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very easy and yummy! We used the slow cooker method and it was great! Used diced ham instead of chicken because that is what was in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cseguin
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I used less chicken broth by about half, to make a more chunky soup, and cut down on the chili powder and jalapenos as well. I also used breast meat instead of dark. A delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My husband and I both LOVED this! It was a little too spicy for me so I might tweak it a little next time but we will definately add this to the "Favorites" list =) Thank you! Andrew and Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I chose to use boneless, skinless chicken breast instead of dark meat. Because I did not have fresh jalepeno peppers on hand, I used one can mild diced green chilies in it's place. I also increased the onion to one large onion and upped the fresh garlic. VERY good the first day, even better the second. This is now one of my new favorite slow-cooker soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Very easy, made no changes to the recipe. I'm sure this would probably pair well with cornbread but I didn't think to bake a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was really good. I made a couple changes. I used chicken breast, used one can of tomatoes with jalapenos (instead of using chopped jalapenos), added a chopped green pepper, and used 4 cans of beans instead of 3. Very easy and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Delicious! I did make some modifications... of course! I prefer white meat so I used chicken breasts. I substituted a can of mild green chiles for the jalapenos which added enough spice for me. I also used Goya Adobo seasoning in place of the cumin, salt and garlic. Other than that I followed pretty closely. I topped the bowls with cilantro as well as sour cream. Also gave people the option to use shredded cheddar/jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I didn't follow exactly..1 can of kidney beans, 1 rotel, 1 lg onion, 1 lg jalapeno, 1 bunch cilantro, no corn, doubled garlic, all else the same. Was going to do without chicken but found a few tenders in the freezer. Made stove top. Intensely flavored, will make again soon. Edit: made again with 2 red and 1 white kidney beans, added in some carrots, no meat. At least doubled spices, tripled coriander. Added in about half cup of masa mixed with water to add some body to the broth. Topped with sour cream this time but like it better without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
"Yummy soup" said my Graddaughter who loves soup. I made the soup just as the recipe read with 3 exceptions. No red pepper flakes, I added Elbow Macaroni and used breast meat from a rotisserie chicken I had left over (made it so much easier). Easy and delicious! With the skillet cornbread I made, it was the perfect winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Made this without the jalapeno but added some leftover cooked brown rice the last hour ...about 1 1/2 cups...and it made it more like stoup. Sweet cornbread was a wonderful complement and made a filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States