Southwest Black Bean Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 18, August 2012 ~ I halved this recipe but used 2 full cans of black beans, fresh corn and fresh tomatoes instead of canned. I added a can of green chilies to make up for missing chilies in the canned tomatoes. I did added extra chicken broth at the suggestion of linda2d and bellepepper. The soup was nice and filling, but we will enjoy it more when the temp isn't 88 degrees out as it was the night I made it. I served mine with a dollop of sour cream, my hubby crushed up tortilla chips in his. I've got a container froze to enjoy this for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Made this for *Recipe Group* 8-21-12 I halved this recipe. This soup is very tasty. The broth was thin and watery. DH really liked this. Simple to throw together. Served with Corn Bread. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I made half of this recipe for Recipe Group this week. I did cut back on the red pepper flakes for Hubs’ sake. Due to some time constraints I made this over a two day period. The first day, I cooked it for 4 hours and finished it off the next day. I found that after the full amount of cooking time, I needed to add another can of chicken broth. I also made a roux with 3 T. of butter and 3 T. of flour, tempered it with some hot soup and added it to the pot. This gave the broth a little body without making the soup overly thick. We enjoyed this and although the flavor was good, next time I might add some taco seasoning to boost the flavor a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
My family and I enjoy spicy foods but found this soup to be much too spicy. I remedied this by adding a can of diced tomatoes and stirring in rice. The soup still had a significant "kick" to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cseguin
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I used less chicken broth by about half, to make a more chunky soup, and cut down on the chili powder and jalapenos as well. I also used breast meat instead of dark. A delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Very easy, made no changes to the recipe. I'm sure this would probably pair well with cornbread but I didn't think to bake a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I chose to use boneless, skinless chicken breast instead of dark meat. Because I did not have fresh jalepeno peppers on hand, I used one can mild diced green chilies in it's place. I also increased the onion to one large onion and upped the fresh garlic. VERY good the first day, even better the second. This is now one of my new favorite slow-cooker soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very easy and yummy! We used the slow cooker method and it was great! Used diced ham instead of chicken because that is what was in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States