Southwest Black Bean Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing the recipe and it was delicious :)I will definitely be making it again.....yum yum :) My husband & I had 2nd's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I liked it a lot, but my kids (teens) found it too spicy, even though I only put in half the amount of red pepper flakes and no jalepeno pepper. Doesn't seem necessary to use the slow-cooker since the chicken has to be cooked first anyway, but would be convenient for a ski trip or a work day. A dollop of fat-free sour cream was a delicious complement to the spiciness of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Loved, loved loved it. Made without jalapeno, but we are from Minnesota so we go light when it comes to spices. Still plenty spicy with chili powder and red pepper flakes. Used ham instead of chicken. Wonderful the next day. Thanks for the great recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Made this without the jalapeno but added some leftover cooked brown rice the last hour ...about 1 1/2 cups...and it made it more like stoup. Sweet cornbread was a wonderful complement and made a filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
"Yummy soup" said my Graddaughter who loves soup. I made the soup just as the recipe read with 3 exceptions. No red pepper flakes, I added Elbow Macaroni and used breast meat from a rotisserie chicken I had left over (made it so much easier). Easy and delicious! With the skillet cornbread I made, it was the perfect winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I didn't follow exactly..1 can of kidney beans, 1 rotel, 1 lg onion, 1 lg jalapeno, 1 bunch cilantro, no corn, doubled garlic, all else the same. Was going to do without chicken but found a few tenders in the freezer. Made stove top. Intensely flavored, will make again soon. Edit: made again with 2 red and 1 white kidney beans, added in some carrots, no meat. At least doubled spices, tripled coriander. Added in about half cup of masa mixed with water to add some body to the broth. Topped with sour cream this time but like it better without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Delicious! I did make some modifications... of course! I prefer white meat so I used chicken breasts. I substituted a can of mild green chiles for the jalapenos which added enough spice for me. I also used Goya Adobo seasoning in place of the cumin, salt and garlic. Other than that I followed pretty closely. I topped the bowls with cilantro as well as sour cream. Also gave people the option to use shredded cheddar/jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was really good. I made a couple changes. I used chicken breast, used one can of tomatoes with jalapenos (instead of using chopped jalapenos), added a chopped green pepper, and used 4 cans of beans instead of 3. Very easy and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My husband and I both LOVED this! It was a little too spicy for me so I might tweak it a little next time but we will definately add this to the "Favorites" list =) Thank you! Andrew and Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This had okay flavor (heat but a little bland), and we liked the different textures of the ingredients but the base just wasn't there. Very thin and not enough of it. I made a half batch and got three bowl with very little broth and then about 3-4 cups of leftover "stuff" with no liquid. We used this part as a taco salad type topper and it would probably pair well over rice but I will freeze the rest and figure out what to do with it later. Made for recipe group 8-22.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States