Southwest Black Bean Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
turned out to be a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is a new regular on our recipe list - easy, hearty and full of flavor. Skipped the jalenpenos and cut the chili pepper in half, just to tone down the heat since my middle-aged stomach can't party like it used to. Still spicy enough for us, with really, really rich flavor. The heat intensifies after you refrige and reheat, just a warning. Served with sour cream and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I made this soup in my crock pot with a few changes by adding kidney beans, chili beans and diced green chilis. My husband and coworkers love it. Easy and tasty. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday and let it cook all day. After running around all day, it was a treat to come home to this soup in the crockpot. Paired with a good sandwich, and it was dinner. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Good flavor but makkes for much gas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Awesome soup that my entire family loved, which includes 2 toddlers. So easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is good and hearty. I made this soup without the jalapenos and it was still very spicy. I recommend omitting the chili flakes, jalapenos and using only one teaspoon of chili powder. I also used fresh cilantro instead of coriander powder. Used both thigh meat and breast meat. Delicious!! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
used less chili peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I'm so glad I read many reviews that commented that this soup was overly spicy. Because of that, I cut the red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon, used 1 mild and one regular can of rotel, and used 1 chopped jalapeno (about 1/4 cup, instead of 1/2 cup). It was still quite spicy (and I love spicy food). I added cheese and a couple of tablespoons of sour cream to each serving, which mellowed the spiciness. We liked it, but it was only OK. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made exactly as indicated. But if I make it again, I will definitely cut back on the cayenne pepper. It was way too spicey. With all the goodies in there, I expected more flavor. But the hot spice overpowered it totally. I am tempted to try adding something to offset the overpowering spice. It seems like lime juice would be good and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States