Southwest Appetizer Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I made this but with some changes based on another recipe for a similar appetizer because of the reviews saying it is too bland. I mixed 1/2 a package of taco seasoning mix into the cream cheese mixture before baking, used canned, diced green chiles instead of jalapeno dip, 2 cups of "Mexican Blend" grated cheese and no cottage cheese. I added the remaining taco seasoning to the sour cream topping. It smelled sooooooo good while baking, I could hardly stay out of it! Served with tortilla chips, it went over very well at the potluck I took it to. Everyone is also impressed by how pretty it is with the rings of black olive, tomato and green onion arranged on top. I think a way to avert the soggy bottom crust might be to prebake the crust lined springform pan in the oven for 10 minutes or so. I am going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
This was ok, nothing I would rave about. It has a lot of ingredients for the final effect. If I made it again I would leave out the tortilla chips, by the next day they were soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
To avoid the soggy crust problems, I simply greased the springform pan, then dusted it with dry breadcrumbs. I then served it with crackers and tortilla chips, rendering a crust unnecessary. I substituted sharp cheddar for the Colby. I mistakenly purchased a can of jalapenos instead of mild green chilis - I ended up using about half the can. It added a bit of zip, but the rest of the filling really tempered it. Everyone I served it to asked me how I could cram so much flavor into a little bite, so it was well-received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Very bland! This recipe will need to be tweaked ALOT! My guests agreed. It is a beautiful presentation, so if you can KICK IT UP A NOTCH with your own personal preference it would be worth it. Add seasoning, more peppers anything to make it resemble a "southwest" taste. Forget the chips on the botton. Soggy! Makes enough for a very large party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2000
Excellent & very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steve Bell
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I really liked the "back door" warmth of this recipe but I recommend adding one 4 oz. can of diced jalapenos. There is plenty of fat in the cheeses to tone it down and we had adults and kids enjoying it. It would not have enough heat without in my opinion. It's very nice on crackers, celery and, I'm afraid, by the bite. I just made it again tonight and it was quite a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I just brought this cheesecake to a party and it was a huge hit! The only revisions I made was to add salt, pepper, chopped jalapenos and a cayenne/chili spice to the "cheese" mix. I made it with the original ingredients and it was a little bland but the extra additions gave it a delicious kick! It was easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I wanted to try this recipe for a Mexican party. It looked really yummy! I found the cheese cake part to be bland, even though I added some hot cheese and extra green chiles. It was also hard to scoop up with tortilla chips as they broke. I don't think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
This cheesecake is delicious! It's great with Fritos Corn Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I thought this was a different take on the usual mexican dips. Everyone loved it! I replaced the chiles with jalapenos from my garden for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KantCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Greek Appetizer Flatbread

See how to make a simple Greek-inspired flatbread appetizer.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States