Southern Yank Pulled Pork BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My BF and I really like this recipe. I used a sweet and sour BBQ sauce. It turned out a little sweet, I would definatly use a richer smokey BBQ sauce next. As said in by others the sauce was really runny. I would reduce the amount of water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is absolutely divine! My husband & kids agree 100%. I am giving it a 2nd go tonight using the recipe just as is. The 1st time I made the recipe a few weeks ago, it created a bit too much liquid but I just boiled it down in a separate pot & then drizzled it on the sandwiches. Didn't want to waste any of that delicious sauce! Tonight I added a bit more meat - it is smelling wonderful. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Wow, this was outstanding!! I made this nearly to a T, just added more garlic, and a little less water. This was my first time making pulled pork, and what a hit. I HIGHLY recommend making this. Cooked on low from 8am-5pm while I was at work, it took 3 minutes to shred and done! Totally making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Great flavor and very easy! I recommend this recipe over the root beer one on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Yummy....I only added a little water to thin out the sauce....1 c. would have been too much and too watery. I actually made the sauce the night before and store in the fridge overnight. Put the meat and sauce in the crockpot the next morning and let it go. Leftovers freeze woonderful! Eating them tonight...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Loved it and will definitely make again!! I tweeked it alittle by instead using only 1/2 cup onions, no celery, 1 cup juice off the meat (cooked earlier in crock pot) instead of water, only 3/4 tsp chili powder, and cayenne pepper to taste rather than hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Hi all, I'm the guy who contributed this recipe but no longer have the ability to access the account due to a hacker lol. Anyway, I wanted to address the consistency of the sauce. Yes, it's a bit watery, but I have a great fix. After removing the pork shoulder from the crock to shred it, use an immersion blender on the sauce remaining in the pot. Just whizz it all up. This will not only thicken the sauce but also more evenly distribute the flavors. Once done, add the shredded pork back to the pot. If you don't have an immersion blender, get one lol. Kidding. A regular blender would work too. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishBoyCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was the bomb.com. So many people asked for the recipe after the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe is pretty good! I grew up on carolina bbq so I can't give this 5 stars.... but for bbq from a slow cooker and not a bbq pit this is awesome Here are my mods: Used Sweet Baby Rays Maple Sugar bbq sauce and left out the honey and brown sugar. it was plenty sweet enough I dumped about half a bottle of hot sauce into my pot before it had enough kick to it I left out the celery Added a few splashes of white vinegar and maybe a teaspoon of spicy brown mustard this turned out so well I'll probably make it again for a fourth of july party I'm going to. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I need to make this again and not have it in the crock pot so long. I had to have it in there for about 10 hours on low and it was a bit over cooked. Still tasted pretty great though! However, next time I won't add as much water b/c it was a bit too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Felly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States