Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This is the first year we grew turnips and have been trying different recipes. This is delicious!! Both my husband and I give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is simply delicious. Each time I do it I'm asked for the recipe. It has become a family favourite. Thank you for posting it Jenka
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Nice recipe for the kids' first try with turnips. I transferred the carrot/turnip mixture into an oven-safe serving dish, sprinkled more cheese on the top and broiled it for 5-6 minutes. A nice finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was a hit with a group of turnip skeptics. I joined a CSA and was clueless of what to do when turnips showed up in my box. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimholtkc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I am not a turnip lover but was given some fresh grown turnips and wanted to try them with a new recipe from "Allrecipe". To my surprise the turnips were quite good! We each had a second helping and they were finished off. I think the cheese really topped the dish off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Picky girls did eat! This was my 1st attempt at turnips and it was a hit with the family. I substituted cilantro for the parsley! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Wow! This was delicious. I was trying to find an alternative to the sugary turnip casseroles I have had in the past and this was it! I used low fat sour cream and sharp cheddar cheese and eyeballed most of the ingredients. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Pretty good... I think if I make this recipe again, I'll add some sugar to counteract the bitterness that turnips seem to have sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I tried this recipe because we got turnips in my csa and I had no idea what to do with them. This was amazing! I've never really liked turnips, but I'm thinking about going to buy some to remake this as a side for Thanksgiving. I followed the recipe exactly for the most part (even added the parsley, which is a fav in my household), but I used pepper jack instead of cheddar. I'm definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley's Cooking Adventures
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I made this recipe last night because I had a lot of turnips on hand and wasn't sure what to do with them. This recipe is quick, simple, healthy and tastes great! Boiling and simmering the turnips in the water and veggie bouillon creates the perfect texture, not too mushy and not too crunchy. The melted cheese on top makes this dish comforting and belly warming. Thanks for the awesome recipe! PS You can check it on my blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States