Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I used rutabaga (yellow turnip) and chicken broth because those were what I had on hand. I also only used about half the cheese, but I mixed it in so it melted. It was SO good, I could have eaten it as a meal by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I changed a lot in this recipe, because it seems a bit plain. I added a lot of cumin to the sour cream and some lime juice. I also used a chicken bouillon instead of vegetable. The liquid didn't evaporate fast enough, so I ended up dumping it once the turnips were tender. I added some more cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
OOOOooooooweeeeeeeeee! That was tasty! We added fresh breadcrumbs with olive oil, black peppa, and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made it twice and both times it was a disappointment. Bitter, soggy, and not a whole lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This recipe was the first time my husband and I had ever had turnips- it was great and we really enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALLIKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I rarely follow a recipe word for word, including this one. I sautéed the onions and garlic, added the bullion granules, potatoes and turnips. I didn't have cheddar. So, I used Emmental. It smelled great and tasted just fabulous. I will be making this one again. The entire family enjoyed it including my 3 and 4 year old veggie haters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Troch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley's Cooking Adventures
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I made this recipe last night because I had a lot of turnips on hand and wasn't sure what to do with them. This recipe is quick, simple, healthy and tastes great! Boiling and simmering the turnips in the water and veggie bouillon creates the perfect texture, not too mushy and not too crunchy. The melted cheese on top makes this dish comforting and belly warming. Thanks for the awesome recipe! PS You can check it on my blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I really enjoyed having turnips this way, but I couldn't give it 5 stars because I changed it a bit (like I usually do with all recipes. First off I used a chicken bouillon cube, with a little bit more water (10-12 oz)... I kinda wish I would have used the 8 oz, even though I had more than 3 cups of turnips. I completely left out the cheese, sour cream, and parsley, but substituted some oregano, as well as a garlic blend spice (about 2 tsp.) Turned out great! We had this with sauteed beet greens, mashed potatoes (1/2 new pots, 1/2 sweet potatoes) as well as the recipe on here for "comforting cube steaks". Paired with a merlot was a yummy, quick, fairly healthy and inexpensive dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanie Tingle
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very tasty! Even hubby liked it and he hates most veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Picky girls did eat! This was my 1st attempt at turnips and it was a hit with the family. I substituted cilantro for the parsley! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States