Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Doesn't need a cup of water or it will never boil off! It only needs enough to dissolve the cube. Otherwise, perfect! The turnips are sweet and surprisingly good! I recommend this to anyone, even if you think you hate turnips. (Because I thought I did)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H.Otte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. These are SO good! Make them! You won't be disappointed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I wanted something different from boiled turnips, so I tried this recipe and how glad I am! Only changes I made were to add some cold cooked leftover potatoes, put into a casserole dish, top with more cheese, and bake 20 minutes at 200 C. My husband thought I had learned how to make a really delicious gratin and was surprised that it wasn't some fancy French white sauce he was tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TokyoVeggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These were pretty good. I do think a touch of sugar or maybe even honey might cut out the bitterness a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gotspunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
very good! My 2 year old girl asked for more. My 7 yr. old boy spit the bite out that I forced on him. He is too picky. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I can't say this was bitter, but we just didn't like it. It was the first time any of us had had turnips. Maybe it's just a flavor we don't appreciate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Mine came out slightly bitter also - I wonder why? I don't think there is anything wrong w the recipe, I think either some turnips are just bitter OR over cooking/undercooking may contribute some weird chemical change???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Be careful not to put too much garlic or salt. Also, keep the heat medium-low during the simmer stage or not enough water will evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty closely, only changes I made were i used at least 4 cups of turnips, sub'd chicken broth for the vegetable broth, and sub'd cilantro for the parsley. Even though I used more turnips, it still turned out a bit wet. I let it simmer for as long as I could, to try to get the moisture to evaporate, but had to take it off when the turnips were getting too done. Other than being a bit wet, it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is my first review of recipes on this site, having discovered cooking later in life [56]. I used vegetable stock instead of the buillion cube and water, but otherwise followed the recipe. I had never had turnips before, but after being married for 33 years my husband finally told me that he liked turnips so I tried a recipe. I have to say that during the cooking process I kept tasting and I kept thinking, OMG, dirty socks floating in cloudy water. And then I added the sour cream, and the dish was transformed, and we couldn't slurp it up fast enough! Thank you Jenka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States