Southern Turnip Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Didn't have enough turnips so added carrots instead. Nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bullet
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made a bunch of substitutions and it turned out great. Instead of sour cream I used Bulgarian yogurt, and added dill to the broth. At the end after melting the cheese in, I threw in some thinly sliced cucumbers and topped with chives. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was delicious! And it tasted great even before I added the sour cream, so if I want to eat lighter, the recipe still works fine. It was wonderfully easy too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! It is delicious! I didn't have vegetable boullion so I used chicken. My husband loved it as well and he's picky about vegetables. His first time having turnips too! Hallelujah something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I have never tried turnips and everyone raved about this recipe. NOT a fan at all of this recipe or of turnips. Tasted like a big radish and since I probably wouldn't put sour cream and cheese on my radish, I dont know why I would put it on these. Nobody in my family liked it. I ended up throwing out the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Awesome! I doubled it, boiling the chopped greens separately in a broth/water mixture (2.5 cups per pound), and stirred them into the turnips, whuch I drained. I upped the yogurt (sub for sour cream) and spread it into a casserole dish. Sprinkled with extra cheese and baked at around 350 for 12 minutes or so. No salt needed, just some griund pepper. A hit at the fall equinox potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
great! wonderful way to use those turnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was great! My husband and I both enjoyed it. We had fresh turnips from the garden and I've never cooked them before. This was an easy, tasty side dish to compliment our grilled chicken. We didn't have sharp white cheddar but had some pepper jack which added an additional bite. We will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very tasty. I modified based on what I had and it still turned out great. I substituted garlic scapes for garlic, omitted onions, and omitted the sour cream. I also threw in the chopped turnip greens with the garlic and turnips. Everything cooked up really well. (I cooked it primarily with the lid on). I didn't need any salt or pepper (it was salty enough due to the bouillon) and I just shredded some aged sharp cheddar cheese on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I doubled up the recipe as I had a lot of turnips. I think I should have reduced the liquid just a bit more. I added more sour cream than the recipe asked for. It tasted real good! I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States