Southern Turkey Cornbread Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Love this recipe! It's the best recipe I've found for using left-over turkey. I substituted 1 box of Jiffy corn bread mix for the refrigerator rolls and just spread it over the top before baking. No adjustments to baking temp or time were needed. Added diced corn and some left-over beans the 2nd time I made this, then froze serving sized portions. It reheats well, covered with a paper towel, in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Not sure what I was expecting, but it was better than I could have imagined. I did add peas and dice carrots along with the corn. My family loved and the leftovers were good for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was mediocre at best. I added celery, onions and carrots, but it was still just not "all that" I like the idea of the cornbread topping, (I put actually cornbread batter on top)maybe I will make it again using the usual pot pie veggies and maybe doing a from scratch filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Perfect! only substitutions were using Jiffy corn muffin mix and cream of celery soup because that is what i had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great and tasty way to make a cornbread pot pie with some leftover turkey. I used this recipe and substituted one package of Jiffy corn muffin mix for the refrigerated cornbread twists and just spread it on (prepared as directed on the Jiffy box) and it turned out great! Will make again next Thanksgiving, or the next time I cook up a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is NOT a family favorite. It has a okay taste but as far as the family goes, we're going back to the old pot pie standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was great! I doubled the recipe used a frozen mixed veggie and used the Jiffy Cornbread for the topping... Husband and kds loved it. Great quick recipe that will definitely make it into my rotations :). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made this with Jiffy cornbread mix and the cornbread topping may have been a little too sweet. I liked this recipe and it was a great way to use some leftover Thanksgiving turkey. Very easy to make and kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARRINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
maybe it was because I used jiffy mix and poured it over top. It WAS pretty, golden brown, and SO easy (plus I had all the ingredients) so I had high hopes, but, I have to share this for those who are looking at this recipe and maybe sitting on the fence about it (like I did)- we did not care for it. but thats just one opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Outstanding use for leftover Turkey. This was LOVED by one and all. No adjustments or changes needed IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

How to Fix a Still-Frozen Turkey

Bird’s still frozen? Don’t fret. We’ve got easy tricks to avert a turkey tragedy.

How to Fix Dry Turkey Meat

Turkey’s a little dry? No problem. See several quick ways to make it moist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States