Southern Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was an easy, easy sweet potato pie recipe. I have made it about 20 times and I get the same reviews. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I have eaten Sweet Potato pie all my life because I have lived all my life in the south. Because it always tasted like pumpkin pie I never made one. I made this pie and noticed that the recipe didn't call for vanilla so I used vanilla buttter nut flavoring and I also used fresh nutmeg. It was so goooood!!!! Best thing was it didn't taste like pumpkin pie. Everyone that tried it loved it too. I will make this for Thanksgiving! This will jow be a family favorite. My neighbor said it was the best sweet potato pie that he has ever eaten. He is 74 and has eaten many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I tried this one a few weeks ago and OH MY GOD. Now that is southern sweet potato pie. My family loved it and I will be making it a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Finally a Sweet Potato Pie my husband "really" raves about! It brings out the flavor of the potato, not overpowers them like many based on a Pumpkin recipe. For those family members who like sweet potato casserole and the marshmallow topping, I just do a little marshmallow creme lattice across the pie instead of whipped creme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Review 2: I've been making this pie since the initial review. It's the best Fall/Holiday pie ever. MUCH better than pumpkin in my opinion. I only modified it slightly. I believe as written, It is a LITTLE too sweet (and like I said, I am a sweet-aholic). So, I brought the white sugar down to 2/3 C, included 2/3 C of brown sugar. Added a dash of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the batter. Then, before it goes in to the oven I sprinkle a very fine layer of brown sugar on top. I use a no-roll pie crust with this recipe and it is DELICIOUS. Cool it and add some fresh homemade whipped cream on top. THIS is a recipe you can pass on for generations. Review 1: I may have to review after this has had time to completely cool... but as it stands right now, it may be a TAD too sweet for my tastes (and I like things sweet). I don't know if it is the addition of the 1/4th cup light corn syrup, but it's kind of oily? It still tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this pie on 11-26-08, my family loved it. I was hosting my 2nd Thanksgiving dinner, and I received so many praises about this pie. I read some of the other reviews and decided to use their advice. I added 1 tsp. Vanilla and used 2/3 of brown sugar. I also added a 1 tsp of nutmeg. Boy, this recipe was easy to follow. The pie was delicious. I let it back for 55 minutes. The pie wasn't too dark or too light. I still received calls or praise the day after Thanksgiving. Thank you for all of your suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I usually make pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving, but I decided to make sweet potato pie instead and I am so glad I chose this recipe!!! I did make a few small changes - instead of 1/2c butter I used 1/4; in addition to the nutmeg I added 1/2t of cinnamon and about 1/8t of ginger, a dash of allspice and a dash of cloves; and used 2/3c of brown sugar with 1c of white sugar and added about 1T vanilla extract. All of my guests enjoyed it and complimented it over and over again. Thank you so much for this recipe! Needless to say, this will be replacing the spot on the table where the pumpkin pie used to be :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ware, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is now a staple at my family's Thanksgiving meal and is the only recipe my dh has everre-requested. Don't worry about how runny it looks when you pour it into the crust...it firms up nicely. None of us at my house are big fans of pumpkin pie so this is a wonderful alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My husband is southern, this is his favortite dessert so I decided to try it. He absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe.I did make a few alterations as I went along to suit my family's tastes. I added a Tbsp of Vanilla right off the bat to get rid of the canned sweet potato taste. I slowly added sugar until I got to 1 cup and was happy with the sweetness after the corn syrup went in. I did not have the oily residue on the top that others had so I don't know about that. I also made the filling in my food processor which gave me a silky smooth texture and NO lumps from the canned sweet potatoes. My kids attacked it right out of the oven and it did not last one night. I would make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States